A little hyper

12 Oct

My roommate and I are being so weird right now…we both have toooo much energy and are doing random things. Currently listening to “The Ultimate”–by Lindsay Lohan. Anyone that has seen Freaky Friday should remember this! Haha, soo random.

House is on tonight!! Exactly 6 minutes. I absolutely love that show. Probably because the whole thing is like a puzzle, and it’s just so captivating.

I had a pretty good weekend. Mostly took it easy. I got to spend all of Saturday with my family! We went out for Chinese for my Grandma Gloria’s birthday. Anything other than my dining hall food tastes like total HEAVEN to me. I ate soo much kung pao shrimp it was ridiculous! So good. I didn’t take any pictures all weekend, sorrryyy!

A delectable bowl of oatmeal was had this morning:

STP63559

Gah, I want some new bowls! When my mom and I went shopping at Target for school stuff, they literally had NO microwave safe bowls. And you all know–in college the microwave is basically your new best friend. Sooo all those cute bowls and plates were a no go 😦 Any ideas where I can get cute ones that can go in the micro??

I soaked this bowl overnight, and it got way creamier than usual. I soaked 1/2 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 smashed banana, and cinnamon overnight. In the morning, I added a couple TBS more of water, and popped it in the microwave for 1 min, stirred, 1 min, stirred, 1 minute and presto! Added a touch of sea salt, topped it with banana walnut muffin, and peanut butter. This baby kept me full until after my journalism class, until 3!

We had this awesome woman that used to work at the LA Times as an investigative journalist talk to us. Basically, the moral of her story is that what makes the best journalist is persistence. She told us about the time she crawled through hedges, scaled a gate, and crossed a mote (yes, a mote), all in order to talk to a guy for a story. Crazy!

It is getting cold here, and I was craving something hot for lunch. Enter: stir fry!

STP63565

Cubed tempeh (been craving this for sooo long! The nuttiness was amazing), broccoli, cauliflower, cucumbers, jalapeno, and a couple garbanzos.

Yummm. When I was cooking this up downstairs my friend told me it looked quite delicious πŸ˜€ And this is a guy!

And a few crackers and hummus on the side:

STP63566

Lovely. I need new interesting plates though. These are getting boring to look at.

Well, that’s all the pictures I have for now. I haven’t had dinner yet, but I’m thinking of having some yogurt and cereal. Since this post was semi-boring and needs some excitement, I’ll leave you with this lovely pic:

pepe

That little creature would be Pepe. And yes, he was my family’s pet years ago! He’s a pygmy marmoset monkey from the jungles of Peru. This is a pretty crazy story. My grandpa lives in Peru and I guess he was near the jungle sometime, and he saw this little girl with this monkey on her shoulder. On a whim, he bought the monkey. This makes my grandpa sound like some crazy jungle-person. He actually lives in a small town on his own farm with animals, and he grows his own food. I’ll put pictures up of that another time! Anyways, my grandpa’s sister was coming to the U.S., and she brought the monkey with her. Let’s just say this was pre-9/11 and airport security didn’t find this little guy hidden under her shirt. Yup, that’s how she snuck him in. We loved Pepe soo much and he was the coolest pet! Unfortunately, he died after breaking his tail, and he really couldn’t handle the cold weather that was so different from the rain forest he was used to. I’ll always remember him, and feel lucky that I got to have such a unique pet!

What about you? Any crazy family stories? Pet stories?

Oh, and thank you to my new readers! You make me so happy, and I love reading your comments!!

P.S. Check out this amazzzzing giveaway. I want it all!

5 Responses to “A little hyper”

  1. brandi October 13, 2009 at 8:46 AM #

    Pepe is so cute!!!

    I still haven’t tried tempeh!

    • Tina October 13, 2009 at 8:53 AM #

      Haha thank you! And oh man, you need to try tempeh, it’s soo good!

  2. HealthySDLiving October 13, 2009 at 11:43 AM #

    Mmmm looks like a yummy bowl of oatmeal!

    Aww Pepe is too cute!

  3. Mom October 13, 2009 at 4:42 PM #

    I miss Pepe! Maybe one day I’ll bring another one from Peru…I would probably get arrested.
    We will go china shopping when I go visit you. We’ll find some cute plates. Okidoki?

    • Tina October 13, 2009 at 4:45 PM #

      Fine by me! I’m tired of these ugly red plates πŸ˜›

Leave a comment