Feeling limber

13 Oct

I just went to yoga, hence the title of the post 😀 It felt wonderful! My friend and I have been trying to go EVERY week since school began, and something has come up for one of us every time. I’m so glad we finally made it. I haven’t been stretched like that in a while. I’m gonna sleep so well now 😉

Man, these last two days have been such an abrupt change to the fall season. It went from being nice, warm, and sunny on Sunday to cold yesterday and today. Although today was a bit warmer, I hear tomorrow it’s only supposed to get to…50. Ah, poor me! My mom sent me like 5 links to different down jackets that she wants me to get. When I was g-mail chatting with her she says, “Tina, I know you want to be fashionable, but you are just going to have to get a puffy jacket”. Or something like that. I always resist against puffy down jackets even though I know they’re the warmest. At least she included this one from J. Crew 🙂 I like the antique stone, slate, and shadow colors the best. I still love the peacoats more though!

Onto the eats from today!

STP63568

I wish I could be more interesting and change it up, buuuut oats make me happy and give me a warm belly 🙂 This was the usual mix topped with banana walnut muffin and some peanut butter lovin.

I am really starting to enjoy my art history class. Yeah, it’s no fun memorizing a million paintings, but I do love art and I love the time period we are in now. Here are a few favorites from the past week:

Untitled

“The Conversion of St. Paul” by Carvaggio c. 1601. The lighting and perspective in this are insane!

Untitled2

“The Land of Neverlandish Proverbs” by Pieter Brueghel, c. 1560-1570. There are over 100 proverbs in this painting, it’s so funny to look at!

Anywho–after an extremely boring sociology class (I don’t know what happened here…I used to enjoy it, but I think my professor has gotten extremely cranky lately and wayyy dull), I came back to some lunch. Last night I had some extra time, so I made my Fantastic Foods Vegetarian Chili to eat for the week! Especially since it feels like it’s going to be a cold one, I’m super excited to have this in my fridge. I was very happy to have this quick meal for lunch!

STP63571

Yuck, dirty rims. But I put a little bit of cottage cheese on top, and loooots of hot sauce. Totally filling and delicious. It honestly feels like meat. Which might be kind of weird…if it weren’t so good.

Also, a little green and crunch:

STP63574

On a gooorgeous napkin! I love it.

I watched Biggest Loser on Hulu during lunch. ‘Twas great. It was last week’s episode. I can’t imagine having to eat out for 3 meals a day for a week! Ugh, that’d be terrible.

Dinner was super random as I didn’t know what I was craving and didn’t want to eat a ton before yoga.

STP63578

Started with a microwaved jewel sweet potato.

STP63577

A little bowl of yogurt, Kashi, cinnamon, and pb. At the Commons shop they have Stonyfield yogurt so I figured I’d pick up a tub since I need to spend that money. And so I wouldn’t have to spend my OWN money next time I made it to Whole Foods. Unfortunately, they only have fat free, but it’s worth it to save $4. The texture wasn’t as good as my 365 lowfat but what are ya gonna do!

And a little greens, chickpeas, hummus, and baba ganouj to round it out:

STP63576

I randomly picked up the baba ganouj at the Commons shop too. And an 8 oz jar of Grey Poupon. Quite the random trip. It’s the same brand as my hummus, and I totally love it.

I realized today how much I really really miss cooking! And baking. I put up a Facebook status saying that and like 5 people from my dorm responded saying “Well maybe you should bake us something…”. Yeah, they pretty much all said stuff like that. Oh! So my dorm had a German night last week, and next up is LATINO NIGHT!!! I’m so excited. I was just talking to two girls about it, and I’m pumped to come up with a menu and cook with all the other Latin girls. It’s gonna be so fun 😀 Speaking of German night, I need to get those pictures…

Alright, time for me to enjoy some Banana Split B&J and relax!

Goodnight!

Oh, before I forget!! My mom is coming to visit me on November 30th!!!!!!! I CAN’T WAIT!! She says she’ll cook and bake me as much stuff as I want 😀

CIMG9472

I couldn’t find a good one of me and her, but here she is with my sister Bianca! Isn’t she the cutest?? I think she’s pretty good looking for having 5 kids 🙂

5 Responses to “Feeling limber”

  1. Jessica (jesslikesithot) October 14, 2009 at 12:44 PM #

    Your mom is ADORABLE 🙂

    And i’m in looove with that dinner. A sweet potato, mini-yog mess, some veggies & dip….can’t get any better, am I right!?

    Hope you’re having a good day girl! xoo

  2. brandi October 14, 2009 at 12:53 PM #

    glad you got to go to yoga!!! 🙂

    your mom is super cute 🙂

  3. Jeff Barr October 14, 2009 at 1:38 PM #

    What a cute mom!

  4. Bianca October 14, 2009 at 3:12 PM #

    What?! I thought you were calling me cute. Haha thanks for the pic its a really attractive one!

  5. julie October 14, 2009 at 3:43 PM #

    Awww your mom is a looker girl!

    You got some good warm belly foods in today 🙂 you keep making those oats! They’re the perfect warm weather food

Leave a Reply

