Quiet Morning

10 Oct

Buenos dias!

It’s a quiet morning right now. I’m pretty sure I’m always the first one awake on my floor. Saturday morning always take a looong time to get going. Everyone’s just exhausted from the craziness of Friday night I guess 🙂

I still don’t have the pictures from German night because I took them on my roommate’s camera since mine has decided to only hold 10 pictures. Dad, I think it’s time for a new memory card! I’ll get them up soon for sure though.

Yesterday was a pretty good day, mostly relaxing and such.

It started off early with a bowl of the usual oatmeal:

STP63544

The same mix I’ve been doing all week. Sorry about the messy bowl, I’ve been having problems with oatmeal lava overflows this week.

After breakfast, I had two classes. This is why I love Fridays! I only go to math and then my sociology discussion. Soooo lovely! I’m done by 11. Then I came back here and very heavily debated if I wanted to workout or not. The reason I didn’t want to is because I’d already done my hair and makeup blah blah blah, but then I asked my roomie if I should go and she said yes. So I went! And MAN I’m so happy I did. That means I actually fit in TWO workouts this week. Haha. At home, I went to the gym 4 of 5 times a week, and now I’m good with 2. Oh, how things have changed. But I ellipticized while reading an old issue of Gourmet, then walked around the track a few times, did some ab stuff, stretched, and headed on back.

It was a beeeautiful day here yesterday. I actually wore shorts and a tshirt! Woooot! After a nice shower, getting dressed, and doing some math homework, I got to work on lunch. I was feeling inovative!

STP63552

I took a can of chickpeas, rinsed them out, and add some random spices I found downstairs in the cupboard. Well, they were good spices because we’d bought them the day before for German night. I think I added some paprika, salt, dried parsley, chili powder, and a dash of vinegar. In my room, I added some lemon juice. I then took some beans, mashed them up and put them on the sandwich thin. Oh, and I spread a Laughing Cow on the bread before too. And toasted it. On the side, some broccoli, kashis, and hummus.

An internal view:

STP63550

Mmm. I get so excited when I eat new meals. A girl can only eat raw vegetables and tofu from the salad bar so much!

After this yummy lunch, I headed out of the room just to get out. I also needed to spend like $25 in dining hall food money by the end of the day. I think I ended up spending around 15. I got a huuuge thing of grapes, a container of broccoli, cucumbers, garbanzos, tofu, and random stuff. And 3 bananas. Yay! Then I went to the Commons shop and bought some lotion and jam. I’ll show you the jam later but it’s COOL! I miss my mommy’s homemade raspberry and strawberry jam though 😦

The money spending didn’t stop there. Well, those previous things were actually like school money. Part of the insane dining plan we are required to purchase. It’s cool though. The commons shop has everything–ice cream, school supplies, body stuff, candy, produce, etc. They have a bunch of Kashi cereal, PB&Co, Annie’s, and Amy’s products. For the rest of the semester I think I have around $260 to spend. Fun!!

I went to the bookstore just for fun. I ended up buying a book on clearance! It’s Alice Waters and Chez Panisse. I’m very excited to read it. It was $6, regular price $28! That’s a deal right there. The co-op is also conveniently located right next to the bookstore so I went over there. Got some Kashi Go Lean Crunch that was too expensive, and also some dried mango for 91 cents. SO many cute guys working there. I need to start volunteering there, but I never have time!! Every hour volunteering is $7 in food credit. How cool!?!

This is our co-op. Pretty cool, yeah? My own personal (but small) Whole Foods.

Dinner was something you’ve seen before…I always crave this on Friday nights for some reason. What can I say, it’s perfect.

STP63554

Plain yogurt, Kashi, little bit of jam, huge amounts of cinnamon, with a little pb spoon.

STP63556

And a sliced banana with more pb. Look how cute my matching plate and cup are! Someone gave me that for my birthday a few years ago. I actually need more mugs, I’m planning on drinking lottsss of tea as it gets colder. Mmm, and hot chocolate with mini marshmallows!!

The rest of the night was spent chilling with my roommate, seeing random people, and watching a disgusting scary movie. Oh, and some Gingersnap B&J was also enjoyed.

Have a greeeat Saturday! 😀

One Response to “Quiet Morning”

  1. Brandi October 12, 2009 at 8:19 AM #

    what a fun night! I just bought that gingersnap B&J but haven’t opened it yet 🙂

    your co-op sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

