Christmas Eve & Day

27 Dec

After a sad morning on Christmas Eve, my family headed over to our friend’s house for our annual Christmas brunch. Well, sometimes we have a Thanksgiving brunch, but we weren’t all together this year. The spread is always the same, and it is always so delicious.

Fresh fruit with a yogurt-sour cream sauce.

Homemade quiches and the BEST creme brulee French toast. Oh man, I look forward to this every year!

Blinis with cottage cheese and strawberry sauce.

I think my family just kind of lounged around for the rest of the day, and prepared ourselves for Christmas day. But of course, we had a delicious Christmas Eve dinner planned. Somehow, I didn’t take pictures of most of the end products–oops! I think my camera had died or something. Or maybe I just got a little lazy πŸ˜› But on the menu–mustard-dill salmon, lemon risotto, green salad, and roasted broccoli and cauliflower.

Salmon, my true love! I missed my Seattle salmon while I was away.

The mustard-dill sauce. It is so good, I love it.

Stirring that risotto…I swear I almost got a blister from doing this πŸ™‚

And sadly, that’s all of the dinner photos I have. Luckily, I took many pictures of dessert. It’s a tradition for us to have Peruvian hot chocolate often throughout the holidays. Peruvian hot chocolate is the best. Straight from Peru, we get these bars of chocolate that are 100% cocoa. They are incredibly bitter if you eat them plain, but when you add milk, sugar, and a touch of cinnamon it becomes a heavenly, thick drink that warms you right through.

Grace distributing the goodness πŸ™‚

I love our Peruvian mugs. Years ago, when my family stayed at my Grandpa’s farm in Peru, we often visited a nearby orphanage and played with all of the kids. When we left, they made us these mugs. A few of them are personalized with our names. I just love the drips that go down the side.

After dessert, we had some fun singing songs while my brother played piano.

Yes, my brother’s long hair rivals his sisters hair.

Whew, long post but we still have Christmas day!

We came down the stairs to this lovely view. We told my parents to get creative with present wrapping this year, and boy did they ever! Presents were placed in empty spinach containers, lemon bags, inside plastic cups, you name it. It was so much fun to see what my kooky parents came up with.

But breakfast came before presents this year, and it was quite the delicious feast.

Smoked Salmon.

After breakfast was the opening of presents. I got some nice gifts including new bowls, clothes, beauutiful Steve Madden pumps, food, and others. ‘Twas a great morning! I wish my internet and WordPress weren’t being so slow, because I’d upload so many more pictures!

We had to get ready for dinner because we had lots to make and people to get ready for. Here’s our gorgeous table–

I love these little marshmallow men my mom and sister made. They’re covered in white chocolate and just so adorable!

On the menu for dinner: a huge prime rib roast, apple cider roasted sweet potatoes, garlic rice, green salad with pears and candied pecans, asparagus in a white wine sauce, and homemade bread.

And my plate. I had tons of sweet potatoes and salad. Also, the little roll on the side is a spanakopita kind of thing. Our friend brought it. It’s phyllo dough filled with spinach and feta. Really good!

Okay, this post has officially taken like two hours to write and load. Time to get ready for church πŸ™‚


6 Responses to “Christmas Eve & Day”

  1. Diane Doesn't Diet December 27, 2009 at 4:04 PM #

    I love the idea of wrapping presents with random things! What a cute idea πŸ™‚

    I also am loving your Peruvian mugs–they’re SO pretty. And so are you, girl! ❀

    Glad you had a wonderrrrful Christmas πŸ™‚

    • Tina December 27, 2009 at 9:31 PM #

      Awh, thank you! You are so sweet!

  2. dorothy December 28, 2009 at 12:24 AM #

    omg that homemade bread looks amazing!! the carb fiend inside me is majorly jealous πŸ˜‰

    your rents are so creative too hehe

    glad to hear you had a good xmas giirl!

  3. Lauren December 28, 2009 at 11:19 AM #

    Wow-everything looks so good. That Peruvian Hot Chocolate looks incredible! I just bought a mug made specifically for drinking hot chocolate. It is shaped like an egg. Can you find that chocolate here? And what is the recipe?!?!!?

    • Bianca December 29, 2009 at 4:16 AM #

      If you want the pure chocolate bars try to go to your local Latin market! We bring them straight from Peru because its less expensive, but I always see them at the Latin market downtown. Usually we make huge batches so I think we chop up about half of a huge bar, melt it with one cup of water in a small saucepan, then transfer that to a blender. Blend it to get rid of grittiness. Transfer this to a large pot and add between a half gallon to three fourths of a gallon of whole milk. You want it super rich though! Add a cup of sugar and a cinnamon stick and heat. Definitely taste it a lot and add more sugar or milk as you like it. Hope this was helpful, peruvian hot chocolate should NOT be missed out on.

    • Tina December 29, 2009 at 11:52 AM #

      My sister just commented and left the recipe for the hot chocolate!

Leave a Reply

