So close…

11 Dec

I can almost taste it! I just had my very last class of the semester. I still have finals next week, and that’s it. The past four months have gone by dreadfully slow at some points, but then I think where did all the time go? It feels like it was just a few weeks ago I was moving in here and getting settled. Man, that was a scary time! I’ve had so much fun in the past couple of months, but it’s also been hard. The work, stress, and mostly being away from my family. Luckily, I have tons of great family here that take very good card of me 🙂

That being said, t-minus 8 days til I’m home!

For the next week, I’m basically going to be glued to my chair studying. Food will most likely be boring and rushed unfortunately. I have gotten a few good meals in the last couple of days though!

Another yogurt mess, of course. Fage, cinnamon, Kashi GL Crunch, banana, raspberry jam, some crumbled muffin, and peanut butter. This never fails to be amazing. Sadly, I only have about 1/4 c left of my Fage 😦 How will I go on?!

Last night, I went to a class called Namaste Cycle. When I first heard about it I was sort of confused like, “How could yoga and cycling be done in the same class? They are so different!” I went last week and it’s actually just a cycling class and then a yoga class. I absolutely loved it, so I went again yesterday! The class is pretty hard, and you definitely feel those leg muscles working the whole time. And yoga just feels SO good afterward. A good stretch is very appreciated after all that hard work. I’m beginning to really like cycling!

My friend and I had plans to make a great dinner when I got back. On the menu: brown rice risotto and salmon.

I’ve made risotto before, but never with brown rice. I investigated a little online and saw that people found it worked pretty well. I used short grain brown rice and some homemade chicken stock. A couple of my friends boiled chicken the other day and were so kind to save me the stock because they knew I’d do something with it 🙂

Saute some onion and garlic in a little bit of olive oil.

Then add the rice and a bit of white wine and stir until evaporated.

Add the chicken broth 1/2 cup at a time and stir, stir, stir! This actually took like 50 minutes. I knew that brown rice would probably take longer, and it needed more liquid than usual. It probably could’ve cooked even longer but it was almost 9 and we were getting hungry! When it was just about done, we seasoned it with salt and pepper, and since we didn’t have Parmesan cheese, a handful of Italian blend shredded cheese. Hey, you gotta do with what you have right?!

No pictures of the salmon process, but I just rubbed mine with olive oil and seasoned it with salt and pepper. We heated up a pan on the stove for a few minutes so it got really hot, and then we seared our fillets for just a few minutes per side. This gets a great brown crust, and it’s so easy. My favorite way to cook salmon for sure.

My plate. I also had some steamed broccoli on the side. And the dark bits on the risotto were the crispy bits from the bottom of the pan 🙂 Can’t let those go to waste! We felt so gourmet eating this meal haha. And we definitely ate this while watching Harry Potter 6. I’m sooooo in love and obsessed with all things Harry Potter. Not gonna lie, I tear up when Dumbledore dies! Sorry for anyone that hasn’t read the books or seen the movies…

I didn’t have my 8am math class this morning which was glorious. I slept in, and enjoyed a nice, hot breakfast on this cold morning.

Pumpkin oat bran topped with muffin and peanut butter. Delicious and filling as usual.

Alrighty, studying times starts now. I have a final Monday, Tuesday, Friday, and Saturday. Don’t even let me begin on the cruelness that is an 8 am Saturday exam…

6 Responses to “So close…”

  1. VeggieGirl December 11, 2009 at 12:35 PM #

    BEST of luck with finals!

  2. dorothy December 11, 2009 at 11:55 PM #

    good luck wiht finals!

    ive never had the patience/courage to try risotto but now that i now it can be made with brown rice, iw anna try! 😉

    • Tina December 12, 2009 at 9:09 AM #

      Yeah, definitely try it! It especially takes patience with brown rice, but it’s worth it 🙂

  3. burpexcuzme December 14, 2009 at 1:10 AM #

    Wow, I never knew to make risotto with brown rice…that sounds good! Is the texture much different though?

  4. Karin December 14, 2009 at 6:31 AM #

    That dinner looks great! I also really like brown rice risotto :).

    Good luck with your finals!

  5. dailygoods December 17, 2009 at 8:56 AM #

    youre almost doneeeeeeeeeeeeeee! 🙂

Leave a Reply

