Ramblings

3 Dec

Many random things to share today. I’ve kind of been sporadically photographing meals this week, and switching off between my old camera and my Rebel, for convenience sake.

Let’s see what I have, shall we?!

Yesterday’s lunch was quite the looker.

It was a rainy, cold day here yesterday and all I craved was a hot plate of vegetable goodness! And I also have some squash I needed to roast, so I popped that acorn squash in the oven. It took forever to roast (I blame the suspicious basement oven), but it was delicious and worth the wait. I also had chickpeas, lots of sauteed spinach, broccoli, red onions, and jalapenos. Muy delicioso. And doused everything in Frank’s and had hummus of course.

Yesterday was spent totally lounging. I watched Food Network for a good two hours. I haven’t watched it in FOREVER! I missed my people. When Tyler Florence came on I definitely shrieked a little…my roommates didn’t understand my love for him. Haha.

My friend Tiara and I have been wanting to do a pizza night for awhile and yesterday was the perfect night! We hit up the Commons shop and Dining hall for some ingredient. I got lots of spinach, onion, jalapenos, broccoli, chickpeas, and a little tofu. And some cheese at the Commons.

I had a whole wheat pizza dough from Trader Joe’s and we split it in half because I had some…different ideas for my pie.

Mine on the right, Tiara’s on the left. I caramelized a ton of onions, and wilted about half of my spinach. And added my other stuff too. And garlic!

The dough, obviously.

You see, through all of the pizza nights I’ve had at my aunt’s house, I’ve discovered that hummus is amazing on pizza. Sounds weird, but it is just SO GOOD. This is what led to Tiara and I making separate pizzas 🙂 But she did a wonderful mix of olive oil and garlic for a white pie.

Oh yeah, I put corn on there too! Corn gives a wonderful hint of sweetness to balance all of the other flavors. In the summer, we put fresh corn on our pizzas and it was amazing.

Right before it went in the oven. I also sprinkled a little cheese on top. With so many toppings, I never miss the cheese!

And we popped those suckers in a 425 oven for around 15 minutes (maybe more) until they were perfectly golden to our liking.

Our masterpieces coming out…Oh, and I just have to say that so many people came by and were seeing what we were doing. Not many people take the time to cook! And of course it smelled wonderful.

Just looking at this is making me excited for leftovers later today.

And I know Tiara is excited too! Look how gorgeous hers is!

So while we were enjoying our dinner, what do you know? The fire alarm goes off. Just a drill, but so annoying! It was like 8pm and raining. We had to stand outside for like 10 minutes, and then we all walked over to another dorm. This place had a piano, and someone started playing “Lean On Me”, and we all started singing. A kumbaya moment. I love my dormmates 😀

Since I have time I’m just gonna keep this post rolling!

I had oat bran in an almost empty Cinnamon Raisin Swirl jar this morning. Scrumptious. Especially when topped with a little muffin-lovin.

The other night, I ichatted with my sister Grace for almost two hours. It was awesome.

Isn’t she a cutie? Especially with those brand new pearly whites of hers 🙂

Okey dokey artichokey, I have class in ten minutes. It’s a beeeautiful day and I’m hoping to take pictures. We shall see.

In other news, 17 DAYS TIL I AM HOME!!!!

Seattle is my true love 😀

7 Responses to “Ramblings”

  1. Mom December 3, 2009 at 3:49 PM #

    Oooo, those pizzas looked so good! I’m craving one right now. I have to try hummus on pizza but I will put more cheese on mine than you did on yours. Cheese is good on pizza ALWAYS!
    Can’t wait to do some holiday cooking with my lovely girls!

  2. dorothy December 3, 2009 at 3:57 PM #

    i tried hummus on a pita pizza- per your recommendation- and it was wonderful!! tj’s pizza dough seems great for a quick meal too

    you are two gorgeous sisters! and you look soo alike i thought that was you hahaa

  3. Jeff Barr December 3, 2009 at 9:22 PM #

    Looks delicious. They put corn on pizzas in Japan. And eggs too!

  4. grace! December 4, 2009 at 12:43 AM #

    awwh Tina!

    I love that picture. Its cool how you can see yourself talking it. Your’s and Tiara’s pizza looks SO good may I say. We will deff be making homemake pizza when you come home.
    sooo excited girl!

    love,

    Grace (:

  5. Karin December 4, 2009 at 6:23 AM #

    The pizza looks amazing, I’ve never thought of trying hummus instead of tomato sauce.. Need to try that!

  6. brandi December 4, 2009 at 10:08 AM #

    those pizzas look great! I’m going to try a hummus one next, too.

  7. HealthySDLiving December 4, 2009 at 3:51 PM #

    Mmmm the pizza’s look great! And I love Tyler Florence too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

