Buenos Dias!

1 Dec

Hola! I feel like it’s been a while since I’ve really posted, but I’ve just been busy busy busy. There are only 2 more weeks of classes and then…finals week. We’ll just let it go there.

I haven’t really been taking many food pictures lately. At least at school it’s hard to break out the Rebel and take pictures, you know? Especially in the morning when the roommates are still sleeping! I don’t want to wake them up at 7am with annoying (although I find them very satisfying) clicking sounds.

Today has been quite the delicious day so far, in terms of eats and weather! It is gorgeous outside. I can actually go out without a coat. Imagine that!

I have been eating a lot of Fage lately. No bother to me because I could definitely live on the stuff. It’s a good thing I stopped by the co-op yesterday and bought their last huge container ๐Ÿ™‚ This morning I had Fage, Kashi GoLean Crunch, homemade raspberry jam, peanut butter, and some nuts. And cinnamon to finish it off! This lovely mix kept me satisfied for hours.

Art history today was interesting. We talked about how we are supposed to analyze abstract art. I mean, if you saw this on an exam and had to write an essay about it, what would you say?

“Red, Blue, Green” by Ellsworth Kelly. Yeah, I have NO idea what I would say about this. This on the other hand…

โ€œStudy After Velazquezโ€™s Pope Innocent Xโ€ by Francis Bacon. Yeah, it’s a bit creepy but at least there’s something there!

Anyways, after art history I had to register for next semester’s classes. I’ll be taking English, Economics, Communications, Journalism, a Global course, and Spanish. I’m trying to do 18 credits–it’s going to be crazy busy but I want to graduate early!

After doing some much needed dishes and organizing my desk, I had a delicious snack before sociology.

One “baked” Gala apple, doused in cinnamon, and dotted with Cinnamon Raisin Swirl peanut butter. It’s time to start eating down my food supply! Meaning my peanut butter supply mostly…

Went to sociology, came back, and made the BEST lunch. It looks familiar, but it was incredible.

On an Ezekiel, I spread Laughing Cow Swiss cheese, aji amarillo, and a touch of honey. I put some roasted butternut squash and maple roasted turkey breast inside and folded it up. On the side, I had Asian mix vegetables and the rest of my squash. Completed the plate with more hummus and aji amarillo. Mixed with watching Biggest Loser on Hulu, and everything was good ๐Ÿ™‚

One more class in 15 minutes and then I’m done. I want to go out and take pictures today! Gotta round up my other friends with Rebels ๐Ÿ˜›

2 Responses to “Buenos Dias!”

  1. Karin December 2, 2009 at 10:50 AM #

    Ah I love art! I also think that it’s almost impossible to say something wrong about a painting because you’re only expressing what you feel and I guess that no one can say that’s wrong (except for if you’d write something about happy babies to picture no. 2 ;)). I would probably write something about differences in picture no. 1. as in they’re each representing opposites.. Like male / female or west / east… And then I’d use some fancy foreign words to make everything more interesting. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I really like the second painting though even though it’s creepy. It expresses a lot.

    • Tina December 2, 2009 at 11:38 AM #

      Art is amazing! I didn’t think I would enjoy my class so much. It was a little boring at first (only looking at pictures of the Virgin Mary and Jesus, who don’t get me wrong, I love!) but then it got really good. I looove Michelangelo, and Leonardo, and just so many more. And I’m lucky that I have the National Gallery so close by! But thanks for the tips, those actually do help! Hopefully my professor will be nice and give us something with more substance to write about ๐Ÿ™‚

      And yeah, the second painting is creepy, but awesome. Jasper Johns, the artist, actually did a whole series of paintings of Pope Innocent X. Originally, Diego Velazquez made a painting of the Pope, and Jasper Johns did a bunch of creepy ones of him. Look it up! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

