The Day After

27 Nov

I hope everyone had a great day spending time with family and eating delicious foods yesterday. I had a wonderful meal here with my relatives and a good night spending time with them. I miss my family more than anything, but it’s only about 3 more weeks til I finally see them!

I made most of the dishes yesterday, and had fun doing it. Cooking is awesome 🙂 Without further ado, here’s what we had.

Roasted Butternut Squash Salad with Warm Cider Vinaigrette a la Barefoot Contessa. This was amazing. But when is roasted squash not good? And when has Ina Garten ever steered us in the wrong direction? That’s right, never!

Cider-Glazed Sweet Potatoes. Oh man, I ate so much of these! It was probably one of my favorite things on the table. The recipe can be found here. I loved the mixture of apple cider, apple cider vinegar, brown sugar, olive oil, and salt. Delicious! I would definitely recommend it.

My aunt’s mashed potatoes in the front (obviously). And a really simple cranberry sauce. Just water, sugar, fresh cranberries, some cinnamon, and a little orange and that’s it! I made it, and I’ve actually never been a fan of cranberry sauce before but I liked it this year! I don’t think I gave it that much of a chance before.

This is my grandma’s version of stuffing. It has rice, chorizo, herbs, and spices.

The turkey. It was seasoned with garlic, rosemary, and probably some other stuff. My uncle Shawn did the work, and I basted it all day. It turned out very moist and flavorful. Surprising, because I normally don’t like the Thanksgiving turkey!

Everything all together. Also, on the right side, I made some gravy. It was soo good! My mom’s recipe. She told me how to make it over the phone. I made homemade turkey stock, and used that with flour, butter, parsley, thyme, salt, and pepper to make the delicious gravy.

My lovely dinner company.

My food. It’s more than it looks like I swear! And I totally had more sweet potatoes and salad 🙂

After digesting and cleaning up a bit, it was time for dessert! The best part of course. The night before (Thanksgiving Eve ;)) I made homemade ice cream and pumpkin pie. They both turned out to be SO delicious.

Pumpkin pie made with this recipe. That gingersnap crust was amazing! I love a cookie crust so much more than pastry any day.

Homemade Gingersnap Ice Cream. Soooo good!! I steeped a mixture of milk, cream, and sugar with fresh ginger for an hour so it was actual ginger flavored ice cream. I also made a batch of gingersnap speculoos, which is a kind of cookie. In the morning, after I churned the ice cream I crumbled the cookie inside. Incredible.

I miss making ice cream so much. I basically spent all of last year doing that. Grace and I already have big plans for some flavas when I get home 🙂

Max loved it too!

I went on a long shopping trip with my aunt today. We went to this huge outlet mall and scored some sweet deals. I got two sweaters, a pair of gloves, and a long-sleeved shirt for $100 at J. Crew. Pretty good deal I’d say! I just ate some leftovers and now I’m going to watch Elf with everyone. Ice cream will probably be in my future 🙂

I took this picture when I was making the cookies. Love my new camera 🙂 I took pictures step by step as I did the pie and ice cream, sooo if anyone’s interested I can make that into a post!

I’m thankful for my family and everything they do for me! I really can’t go a day without talking to one of them. We have so much fun together and it’s not the same living apart. Of course, there are fights, but in the end we are a really close family. I can’t wait to spend Christmas with them.  22 days until I’m home guys!!!

5 Responses to “The Day After”

  1. grace -favorite sister (: November 28, 2009 at 12:26 AM #

    awh tina! Thanksgiving was not the same without you. We miss you so much! It’s so different not having you and Stephen always around. I havent seen you since august! 😦 so sad. We do have some biiig plans for ice cream you blog readers just wait. I got a headband at jcrew today too! weird. haha.
    Looove you sistaa.
    -Graceface

  2. Gillian November 28, 2009 at 11:33 AM #

    I cannot believe how many amazing things you made! You seem like quite the cook! And I would love a step by step on the ice cream I’m so impressed!!!

  3. merittothecarrot November 28, 2009 at 12:39 PM #

    Your table was adorned with some mighty tasty looking food! And that homemade icecream? Amazing!!

    I love the picture you took while making cookies.
    Have a great day!

  4. Jessica (jesslikesithot) November 28, 2009 at 1:24 PM #

    Those sweet potatoes look amazzzzzing! And home made gingersnap ice cream?! How fun, so jealous of your SKILLS!!! 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your week and get excited for home!! Although I may be home at the moment, i’ll be excited for finishing up my finals and then having 3 more glorious weeks of pure relaxation, good food and the company of my fam & friends! xoxo

  5. Mom November 29, 2009 at 4:15 PM #

    And I am so grateful to have a loving daughter like you…You are my priceless princess ❤

    Mom

Leave a Reply

