My 18th Birthday Weekend

23 Nov

Hola hola!!

Okay, seriously I have had the best weekend EVER. By far, this birthday has been my best yet πŸ˜€ I have so many pictures I barely know where to begin!

Saturday morning was crazy. Actually, allll of Saturday was pretty much crazy. After I had my lovely breakfast that my mama prepared for me, we set out to get groceries and get COOKIN!

My mom, grandma, Giselle, and I went to Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and Giant. I have a huge family and so a lot of food was necessary! We got started on everything as soon as we got back.

Chopping up some olives I believe.

I don’t really have many pictures of prep work because I was just too busy to take any.

This was a leg of lamb that was going to roast. What can I say–my family needs meat! My mom marinated it in a mix of yogurt, lemon, rosemary, and probably a few other things!

Okay, now the most important part…here’s the whole spread of food. We went for a Greek theme. I always love to have my family try new foods that maybe they haven’t had before.

My Green Salad. I think I’m becoming quite well known for this! It was spring mix, grape tomatoes, cucumber, candied almonds, and lots of feta! And a vinaigrette made with Dijon mustard, red wine vinegar, garlic, salt, pepper, and extra virgin olive oil.

An orzo salad made by my mom. This was orzo, olives, parsley, feta, red onion, and grape tomatoes. Amazing! We actually bought asparagus but totally forgot to put it in. Everyone loved this, and many of them thought it was rice! πŸ˜€

So for the main dishes, I wanted to do “Build Your Own Pita”. We set out white and whole wheat pitas, chicken, lamb, and a variety of toppings for everyone to make their own sandwiches. There was tomatoes, feta, red onion, hummus, and tzatziki for fillers.

This was homemade tzatziki made by yours truly. I used Ina Garten’s recipe. This woman never fails me! Instead of a whole 1/2 cup of sour cream, I only put in a few TBS. Divine! Seriously, I slathered this on everyyything. My cousin even proclaimed it the best he’d ever had πŸ˜€

Pita chips and hummus were a must.

Lemon chicken and the lamb. I ate lots of chicken and some lamb as well. I can’t even remember the last time I had lamb, but this was delicious. Especially with the cool tzatziki!

Gorgeous platter of melted brie and grapes. We simply spread honey and a little fig jam on top of a wheel of brie and sprinkled crushed walnuts on top. Then popped it into a 350 oven for 5-10 minutes and there you have it, the most delicious cheese in the world. Addicting I tell you.

My mom’s Swedish meatballs. I’m not exactly sure what the sauce is, but basically butter, flour, dill, lemon, and other things. Apparently she used to make these ALL the time way back when, and everyone just loved them! They were really good.

There definitely wasn’t enough room for everything on one table.

The table. Sorry about the obtrusive salad tossers. Those things were like shovels! Ah, everything was seriously SO tasty, and everyone loved it. I love pleasing my family and having them like new things!

Much socializing, picture taking, and present opening was up next…

My brother Stephen and my cousin David.

Aunt Esther and Uncle Victor.

I think this picture is so cool. My great grandma is in front, and she is surrounded by her sons and daughters. I love it!

My fashionista mama and I standing in front of (one of) my birthday cakes.I actually don’t really like cake. The only exceptions are cheesecake (doesn’t really count) and carrot cake. We picked up this beauty at Whole Foods.

And of course, I was sung to!

An off-centered chocolate cake, also from WF. We probably could’ve done without this but I guess it’s better to have extra dessert than not enough!

The best brownies evaaa! The original plan was just to have brownies (because I like them SO much more than cake) and ice cream. And of course homemade chocolate sauce for some delicious sundaes. I don’t know why I never managed to take a picture of the sauce though!

So next up was present opening. I got many lovely things from my relatives, but the best present came last…unfortunately my brother decided to make a video rather than take pictures sooo I only have a few images that captured this momentous event.

I GOT A CANON REBEL XSi!!!!!!!!!!

I can’t even say how excited and ecstatic I was when I opened the gift!! I absolutely can’t wait to start using it and play around with it. Thank you mom and dad, it was the best gift ever! And thank you for the entire party, and for flying mom out here and for everything else. I really couldn’t have asked for a better 18th birthday πŸ˜€ Love you both!

I actually left the camera at my aunt’s house until I go back there tomorrow for the rest of the week. I don’t have a case and don’t want to risk it getting damaged or scratched or anything at school!

Anyways, the party went on and eventually ended. We stayed up verrry late cleaning but it was all worth it. I had the best weekend, and can’t believe that Thanksgiving is this week! And then only 3 more weeks of school til I’m HOME!!!!!!

My gorgeous cousins Stephanie and Katherine!

This is the third “4 Generations” picture we’ve taken. I love that we can do this πŸ™‚

Alrighty, I just got back from the gym and it is definitely time for a shower. I hope you all enjoyed this looong post πŸ˜€

Goodnight!

9 Responses to “My 18th Birthday Weekend”

  1. Bianca!!!! November 24, 2009 at 1:59 AM #

    Such an awesome post! You look so pretty tina!! Jealous that i couldn’t be there for the b-day hope it was awesome!

    • Tina November 24, 2009 at 9:57 AM #

      Awh thanks Bianca! The only thing that would’ve made it perfect was if you all were there πŸ™‚

  2. Lauren November 24, 2009 at 12:03 PM #

    That is awesome you got that camera. I LONG for one! And I want to come to your house for dinner. Looks amazing! (I think I say that every time, but seriously the food looks incredible!)

  3. Gillian November 24, 2009 at 12:41 PM #

    Happy birthday! The feast looks incredible, I love Greek food and grew up on a lot of salads like that big feta one you made!

    You are gorgeous and look like you have such a great family. I got a Canon Rebel XTi for Christmas a few years ago and love it. Can’t wait to see some pics with yours!!

    Thank you for stopping by my blog, I’m so glad to have found yours!

  4. Gillian November 24, 2009 at 12:47 PM #

    I would also love your arroz con pollo recipe from one of your older posts–looks amazing!!!

    • Tina November 24, 2009 at 4:36 PM #

      I’ll definitely work on getting that recipe!

  5. Erin November 24, 2009 at 2:51 PM #

    Awwh πŸ™‚ Happy belated. What a sweet family. Greek food is so good!

  6. Karin November 25, 2009 at 8:18 AM #

    I’m so glad that you commented on your blog –>yours is awesome! I love the spread and your family photos, it looks like you had a blast!

    Melted brie is definitely the best. especially when topped with figs (or in this case fig jam ;)).

    Happy very belated birthday!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hallelujah « Healthy Terp - November 25, 2009

    […] About Me ← My 18th Birthday Weekend […]

Leave a Reply

