Today’s the Day…

21 Nov

I’M 18 TODAY!!!!!!!!

Today’s going to be filled with family, food, and more. I can’t wait to eat to my heart’s content and to see all the people I love most. My mom and brother are here and I couldn’t be happier!

We have a tradition at home of having breakfast in bed. Obviously, I’m not home, but my mom brought me breakfast…on my aunt’s couch! Haha. I had all my favorites of course.

My very favorite Fage 2%, Nature’s Path Pumpkin Flax Granola, a sliced banana, and sunflower seed butter. My mom made it perfectly πŸ™‚

We have to leave pretty soon to go grocery shopping for my partayyy.

Ah, I have so many things I want to share! I guess I’ll just do it quickly!

So the other night I told you I did something pretty fun at school. It was absolutely POURING rain, complete with thunder and lightning. My friends and I were hanging out in my room and we heard tons of people outside. We went out there to see what was going on.

People were putting on trash bags and sliding down this huge hill behind my dorm. Of course I joined in!

Ah, so much fun. I got SO dirty. We’re talking mud in my hair, face, pants, everything.

Such a college moment.

So my grandpa is here right now from Peru, and my mom and I went out to lunch with him and his wife. We went to this amazing Peruvian restaurant called La Limena. Highly recommend it to anyone in the area!!

Blurry yuca fries. AMAZING.

Choclo (Peruvian corn) con queso.

Ceviche Mixto–Shrimp, calamari, octopus, tilapia. Also some red onion, sweet potato, sweet corn, and toasted corn.

I demolished this. They give you a spoon as well to drink the “tiger’s milk”!

Lenguado Frito–a whole deep-fried flounder. Sounds heavy, but it’s actually light and crispy. This was my mom’s but of course I had a few bites!

Picarones, a kind of Peruvian donut. It’s served with a syrup as well. Sorry about all these blurry pictures. It wasn’t too light in the restaurant and of course I didn’t want flash!

My Grandpa Edgar and his wife Manuela.

Okay, I gotta start cooking. But first, my sister sent a package of homemade granola bars with my mom for me to enjoy. They are gorgeous and taste even better.

Bye!

5 Responses to “Today’s the Day…”

  1. VeggieGirl November 21, 2009 at 3:35 PM #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!! πŸ™‚

  2. Lauren November 21, 2009 at 3:57 PM #

    WOW-Happy birthday!!!

  3. Brandi November 23, 2009 at 9:39 AM #

    Happy late birthday!!! What a fun time πŸ™‚

  4. Lara (Thinspired) November 23, 2009 at 10:27 AM #

    Happy Birthday, girlie! Ah, I hope 18 is a wonderful year for you πŸ™‚ And breakfast in bed?! Score!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My 18th Birthday Weekend « Healthy Terp - November 23, 2009

    […] About Me ← Today’s the Day… […]

Leave a Reply

