Busy as ever

18 Nov

Ugh, it’s been such a busy week! Too bad my birthday week couldn’t be all fun, right? Well, it hasn’t been all bad, but I just have a paper to write and it’s a drag. But I’m halfway done with it! Even though it’s due Sunday, I’m pretending like it’s due Friday so I don’t have to worry about it over the weekend.

I have class soon, so no time for a lot of words. Here are some highlights from the last few days though!

Oats in a jar topped with a little blueberry muffin and candied almonds.

Newman’s Own Organics Organic Dried Apples. I loved these! I was expecting them to be super chewy like dried fruit normally is, but they are soft and almost spongy. I ate them like this as a pre-workout snack:

Topped with peanut butter, what could be better?

My BearNaked Fruit & Nut Bar. I got this as a sample a few weeks ago. It was super soft, almost like an oatmeal cookie. I ate half of this post-workout to hold me through class. Topped with what else…

You know me too well.


Lunch yesterday was amazing! I was inspired by the lovely Karina of Like Some Cat from Japan. Her pumpkin and quinoa mixture looked so good that I had to recreate it. I combined 3/4 c quinoa, ~ 1/2 c black beans, a sprinkle of edamame, halved grape tomatoes, ~1/3 c pumpkin, cinnamon, chile powder, salt, and pepper. I simply microwaved this for a few minutes and voila! Oh, yes and topped with a little cottage cheese, a few candied almonds, and a drizzle of honey. A nutritious and filling lunch. For some extra protein, I had a fried egg. Once I ate around the whites, I put the yolk on my quinoa and let it run all over. So good.

Mmm, I love uncooked yolk.

Breakfast this morning. Cinnamon oat bran topped with blueberry muffin crumbles and peanut butter. Simple and amazing. I’m glad I restocked on my 365 Crunchy Peanut Butter this weekend 🙂 One week was too long without it!

I have a butternut squash I might do something with tonight. I’ve been dying to cook it for so long!

4 Responses to “Busy as ever”

  1. brandi November 18, 2009 at 11:55 AM #

    runny eggs! my favorite 🙂

  2. Mom November 18, 2009 at 12:05 PM #

    Its great too be busy. I love going to bed super tired, then I know I have had a full day. You know my motto “Live life to the fullest”!
    I love you my princess!!
    Mom

  3. Diane Doesn't Diet November 18, 2009 at 12:15 PM #

    That lunch looks awesome! Happy birthday 🙂

  4. dailygoods November 19, 2009 at 10:05 AM #

    woo happy birthday week!! 🙂 your food looks yummy, im completely in love with that granola bar! DELISH!

Leave a Reply

