Too Many Words

16 Nov

Hola hola! A few days have gone by and I have not posted. Very unlike me! But I had a fun and relaxing weekend, and now am getting ready for another week of school. But that’s okay because…

IT’S MY BIRTHDAY WEEK!!!

Yup, on Saturday, the 21st,

I will finally be turning the big 1-8. I can’t wait to finally be 18, because let’s face it, there are NO perks to being 17. The menu has already been decided for my birthday party with the family and it’s going to be verrry delicious.

Awh man, I just realized I deleted a few pictures of a very delicious meal I made on Friday. Guess I’ll have to make it again soon. But I did have this delicious treat…

A big and delicious Honeycrisp apple. This was the first one I’ve ever had! As good and delicious and crisp as everyone made it sound. Not sure I would die for it, but it was overall a great apple.

It was a friend in my dorm’s birthday Friday night, and so basically a ton of us went to this party. It was a lot of fun. Except it was basically a sauna in this little apartment. Afterwards, we all headed back and just hung out til like 3 am. And of course I didn’t go to bed til about 4am. Saturday morning, I’m woken up at 7:40 by my aunt saying that my grandma is coming to pick me up. I was kind of deliriously tired, and that would continue the rest of the day!

A few highlights from the weekend…

That is no ordinary sandwich. It’s becoming my “signature” sandwich at my aunt’s house. I made it last weekend for my aunt, uncle, and grandma, and my aunt requested it again on Saturday. So then I decided I should try one for myself!

It has awesome bread that is from a local bakery, and one side is covered in hummus and a little aji amarillo. On the other side, I spread a little Dijon mustard and TJ’s Pumpkin Butter (this is the best!). I put a few slices of turkey meat, and a little white cheddar, then stick it in the sandwich press until it’s all gooey. SO good. Oh man, I can see why they all liked it! 🙂 Oh, and I’m sure it’s pretty obvious what I had with lunch.

Yeeeeah.

Giselle, Max, and I literally chilled all day. We didn’t have access to a car and we were both really tired. We ate breakfast, planned my menu, played with Max, ate lunch, watched TV, and then finally around 5:15 decided we were going crazy and got to leave. We hit the mall where I finally got to drop off my Hudson jeans to get hemmed. I bought those babies like 4 months ago! I can’t believe I haven’t worn them yet. I love Hudsons. They are one of the only jeans I actually like on me! I’m quite picky. Good thing I found mine on sale for $99 because I am NOT about to hand over $176.

We also went to Trader Joe’s where we got some quick things for dinner.

Pizzzzzaaa!

I was in charge of making them and here’s what came out.

Giselle’s and Shawn’s pizza. This is the whole wheat dough (love that it’s only 99 cents. I got a couple and put them in my freezer) topped with pizza sauce, baby heirloom tomatoes, pepperoni, basil, and mozzarella.

Sorry for the horrid lighting. I was in such a big hurry because it was like 8:30 and we were starving. I was slicing the baby tomatoes and of course the knife slips and I gash my thumb. It’s actually quite a deep cut! I actually thought for a bit it wasn’t going to stop bleeding but thankfully it did.

Don’t even pretend like you didn’t want to see that!

Here’s my pizza f-ressshhh out of the oven.

So on half the pizza was pizza sauce, mozzarella, tomatoes, basil, spinach, feta, and maybe a few spices. On the other half though I put hummus! And not just any hummus…Trader Joe’s Three Layer Hummus. OH MY! I’ve always heard about this hummus and my aunt bought it. It is SO good. Like I’m in love with it and can’t believe I didn’t buy my own. We finished the container the next day, no joke. I actually liked the hummus half way better than the sauce half. Try it!

I was feeling a little creative for dessert that night too.

A microwaved Gala apple, topped with a little vanilla ice cream, and a drop of sunflower seed butter. Simply amazing 🙂

What does my family usually do on Sunday mornings?

Brunch of course!

Since brunch was at Giselle’s and not at my Aunt Vicky and Uncle Raul’s, we were in charge of food. I made the eggs, and tried to do them just like my Uncle taught me 🙂 He loved them! I put in some garlic and feta cheese for a twist, and he was like “what are your special ingredients!?” I’m glad the Egg Master approves!

Chicken sausages from TJ’s.

I think this was some sort of coconut custard pie? It was good!

The obligatory salmon, as delicious as always.

Sorry this is turning into a huge post! But last night was the International Dinner at school. It’s basically a HUGE potluck for a bunch of people to come and enjoy. Sadly, I did not have time to make anything but I did help a lot of other people. I took a few pictures, but not many.

This girl Sophia from Guatemala made these. They were kind of like a tamale, but also not really because they weren’t steamed or anything. Interesting.

This is an apple cake that Holke, from Germany, made.

Overall, a fun and successful night!

Alright, I have got to get started on homework. I’ll post pictures from today sometime tomorrow or maybe tonight. After I was done with classes today I went out with a couple friends and took pictures and got food. I loved playing with my friend’s Canon 🙂

Until next time!

 

2 Responses to “Too Many Words”

  1. brandi November 17, 2009 at 10:18 AM #

    yum, so many good eats!

    I hope your birthday week is a good one 🙂

  2. Jeff Barr November 17, 2009 at 10:40 AM #

    Hi Tina,

    Sorry about your thumb, tell Giselle to get her knives sharpened!

    Your pictures look great and I can’t wait to enjoy a “Tina’s Signature” sandwich next month.

    Love,

    Dad;

Leave a Reply

