Sunday Brunch

10 Nov

Almost every Sunday, some of my family gets together for Sunday brunch at my Uncle Raul and Aunt Vicky’s house. I was so fortunate to experience this for the first time either in the spring or summer, and it is always to die for! I love getting away from school on the weekend and spending time with the family, doing what we do best–eating good food.

This past Sunday was no different. Aunt Vicky is soo sweet and offered to hold brunch even though we’d just had a crazy busy Saturday with my cousin’s party.

Giselle, Shawn, Max, and I arrived around 11 to wonderful smells and my ever-excited cousins knocking us over with hugs.

STP64154

My Uncle Raul aka Master Chef of Eggs. Seriously, I don’t eat scrambled eggs much, but I absolutely LOVE his. The key is to cook them verrry slowly and on low heat. Patience!

And now for a succession of the perfect scrambled eggs process:

STP64165

STP64166

Remember to stir constantly, especially remembering to scrape down the bottom and sides.

STP64167

Eventually it’ll start to come together.

STP64168

Just about there! You’ll want to take it off the heat a little early because it will continue to cook as it sits.

STP64171

Beautiful! Simple and delicious.

Seriously, my family goes over the top for all occasions. Prepare yourselves for an array of wonderful foods! 🙂

STP64155

Bacon, clearly.

STP64157

The best bagels from Einstein Bros. I kind of stopped liking bagels for a while, but these definitely got me back into them. I always go for sesame 🙂

STP64160

There is always fresh fruit at every brunch. One of my favorite parts! Notice how pretty and perfect it looks.

STP64164

Cream cheese. The one on the left was a garlic herb variety and was SO good. I absolutely loved it! So much flavor.

STP64174

My absolute favorite part of every brunch! SALMON! Soooo good I can’t even describe. Aunt Vicky makes some of the most moist and flavorful salmon I’ve had. After always telling her how much I loved it, she started making it a staple at every brunch. And I always get the leftovers too 😀 Had them for lunch today as a matter of fact!

My little cousins, Raulito and Gabriela, were asking why I loved salmon so much. I told them it tasted like home. They replied with, “Ewwww, you’ve eaten Seattle?! You eat dirt and grass and fish??” Haha. They are crazy and I love them!

STP64163

Jugo de naranja.

STP64172

Cafe.

STP64175

The final table. Sorry it’s a bit dark, but I’m sure you get the general idea by now 🙂

And for my mom, here are Raulito and Gabriela.

STP64178

These kids are bilingual and I’m so jealous of them!

So, all in all brunch is just unfailingly delicious and always a treat. Can’t wait for the next one!

Actually, I have a picture with my cousins and sisters from brunch in the summer and I love it!

STP60453

Yay my favorite people!

Okay, in other news, my camera still isn’t working 😦 I may just have to go out and buy a memory card. Ugh! I don’t have money for that but oh well. I’m actually researching cameras right now and am hoping to get a Canon DSLR in the very near future…we’re talking 18th birthday present hehehe…:D

I have loooots to do tonight. I hate those days when you realize you have WAY more to do than you realized. That happened to me yesterday. I have an exam on Thursday and Friday. Then I have two papers due next week. Sooo much fun, right?! That’s what college is about I suppose though. My eyes are already closing and it’s only 6. This can’t be good…

If any of you have a Canon or Nikon DSLR, can you tell me what model and the pros/cons of the camera? I would appreciate it soooo much! I’m no pro at photography obviously, but I really want to improve and learn so much more. Gracias!

2 Responses to “Sunday Brunch”

  1. dailygoods November 11, 2009 at 9:40 AM #

    i LOVE family brunches! your family is beautiful, and thats some amazing food right there!

  2. Karina Pinzon November 11, 2009 at 12:20 PM #

    Nothing makes me happier than sharing breakfast with the family. Breakfast is my favorite meal and my family are my favorite people, could it get any better!?

    The brunch table looks incredible. Love how yellow those eggs are! There are so many choices! I am hungry noww. I really want a bagel and some of those eggs…. mail em? :p

    Enjoy your Wednesday!
    <3Karina

Leave a Reply

