Max’s 1st Birthday Pt. 2

9 Nov

Sad news…my memory card is broken again 😦 I don’t know when or if it will fix itself and I’ll be able to take pictures. Maybe my roommate will let me use hers…

My mom commented on my last post that she can’t wait to see pictures of all the family, but I mostly have pictures of the food! Sorry Mom! I have a few Giselle sent me luckily πŸ™‚

STP64108

I’m apparently now the ‘salad queen’ for all family get-togethers. I don’t mind! This was my beauty prior to tossing. It was just a simple salad of spring greens, grape tomatoes, candied almonds (so easy, thanks Bianca for teaching me :D), and feta cheese. The vinaigrette consisted of garlic, Dijon mustard, red wine vinegar, salt, pepper, and olive oil. So easy, yet so good.

STP64110

This is the Barefoot Contessa’s Curried Couscous recipe. I absolutely love this, and my sister and I used to make it probably once a week. We made it for a family party this summer, and it was requested by my uncles yet again. I was happy to oblige!

STP64120

My Aunt Vicky made these chicken sandwiches. I don’t know exactly how they are made, but they are awesome!

STP64106

STP64119

STP64117

Hummus, crackers, and cheese were also a must. Brie is the best!

STP64121

I’m not exactly sure if this is a Peruvian thing to do, but my family has been putting carrots in meat for as long as I can remember. I believe you just dig a hole with a knife sharpener and then stick it in there! (TWSS…I can’t help myself.)

STP64128

Bite-size causas from La Limena. These were so good! The outside is basically potato, and then it is filled with a chicken salad. La Limena is a Peruvian restaurant nearby, and causa is a very traditional dish.

STP64130

The absolutely amazing Aji de Gallina.

STP64131

We serve the Aji de Gallina on top of boiled, sliced potatoes and top it with a hard-boiled egg. I wish I would’ve gotten a picture of my final plate but I was way too busy!

STP64096

I love this picture for some reason.

STP64134

The enormous spread. I can’t even describe how amazing everything was. So happy I have leftovers πŸ˜€

And now for dessert…the surprise I’m sure you all are DYING to see!

STP64114

The CAKE! Giselle stayed up until 4:30am making this baby. And I would know…she woke me up and made me come to the kitchen to see it πŸ˜›

STP64112

My favorite part is definitely the cargo trains. I love the chocolate covered pretzels and gumdrops. Sooo cute! I hope Max appreciates this when he sees pictures of it in a few years, haha. At least he enjoyed eating it!

STP64148

I know it’s blurry, but this guy was moving fast!

STP64115

These are the vegan cupcakes I made. There was one kid who couldn’t have dairy so I made these for him. I hope he liked them!

STP64150

That’s one of my uncles and also my great-grandma. She’s 97 and seriously always dresses so nice. I love it πŸ™‚ She’s the one I need to get all the recipes from.

STP64102

My favorite picture I took. Max loves me! πŸ˜€

IMG_1680

Sadly, I don’t think I got any pictures with Max but there’s my hand! And that’s my brother Stephen.

I hope you all enjoyed getting a glimpse of one of my family’s crazy parties. Although they’ve toned down throughout the years, they’re still a lot of fun and full of food and love πŸ™‚

Coming up next…the best brunch ever!

 

3 Responses to “Max’s 1st Birthday Pt. 2”

  1. Mom November 9, 2009 at 11:38 PM #

    Thank you Tina for posting such great pictures! I wish I had been there…
    xo
    Mom

  2. brandi November 10, 2009 at 10:33 AM #

    Max is so cute! and that cake is adorable.

  3. Becky Rands November 10, 2009 at 5:53 PM #

    Hi Tina!!!!
    Ok….I LOVE these sweet pictures of Max–he is just adorable, and I must say he fits right IN with YOUR family! I would love to hold him right now and smooch his rosy chubby cheeks! ALSO…the food is simply to DIE for! I already went over the whole menu with your mom (whom I love so much), and we were completely salivating over each delectable dish–the array of color and simple presentation is stunning…I would have loved to have been there to pile my plate with such a lovely spread. I am sooo proud of you Tina! I read your blog all the time, but I haven’t commented cuz’ I am not that good with words and wish I was more refined and coy with my words!! hahah! BUT, I have learned so much for the blog about natural and organic foods and just new cool products for companies like Newman’s own organic line etc. Your blog gives me MORE reasons to run right down to Whole Foods ( my all time favorite grocery store) and try them! This mornings breakfast was inspired by YOU–hot oatmeal, with diced honey crisp apples, 1/2 of lightly spotted banana, yellow raisins, chopped pecans, some yummy almond butter and …TRY THIS…pumpkin protein drink by Odwalla overtop instead of milk!!! It was simply scrumptious! Read your blog while I ate every bite! YUM! Ohhhh….I should have taken a picure and sent it to YOU! hhaha! YOU are awesome Tina, keep up the great blogging, we all love the sweet peeks into your adventurous life in college, cooking, roommates, top city picks, the changing seasons, homework, life new insights and hmmm…new life skills that can only be learned while in college! WE MISS YOU TINA! Hey, and when do you get home for Christmas…?…Tyler already has tickets for the beloved “Nutcracker” Ballet and has you on the list for one of his …yep…20 tickets. Let the invtites begin! Isn’t it great to know that some sweet things about Tyler will never change….!
    xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

