Max’s 1st Birthday

8 Nov

Awesome. I just got a good amount done on this post, then lost it all. Guess I’ll start over!

So yesterday was my cousin Max’s first birthday party. Giselle picked me up on Friday morning to help her get everything ready and to have a wonderful weekend.

First, here are some pictures from Thursday. I don’t want to waste pictures, right? πŸ™‚

STP64038

Pumpkin oats topped with bran muffin, yogurt-covered pretzels, and almond butter. Amazing.

STP64040

Roasted sweet potato, zucchini, edamame, and black beans. I’ve been loving edamame lately. I dipped all this into hummus and hot sauce. My friend still thinks I’m crazy for not putting butter and brown sugar on my sweet potatoes πŸ™‚

STP64043

And we all know I can’t do without my friends Ben and Jerry. It’s on my life to-do list to visit the factory in Vermont.

So Friday morning, Giselle picked me up and we spent the day running around getting groceries, cake supplies, and decorations for Max’s party.

Quick picture of my dinner first!

STP64054

Fresh stir-fried broccoli, zucchini, and red onion. These totally filled my void for veggies that day. Also a slice of awesome bread with hummus, and a fried egg on the side. And tons of aji amarillo that’s not pictured. Must remember to pick some of that up pronto!

So the first order of business to prepare for the party was to bake the pound cakes. Giselle had some big plans for the cake. I got to work on the cakes first though, and they turned out wonderfully. I made 3; one was vanilla, another chocolate, and then one marble. I used this recipe and they were all sooo delicious.

STP64058

More on that later.

My grandma is a great cook, and my brother requested she make Peruvian food for the party. She was going to make arroz con pollo, but then decided on aji de gallina. Aji de gallina translates directly to “pepper of hen”. It’s a chicken stew basically, made with shredded chicken, aji amarillo, a red pepper sauce, walnuts, bread, and it is just SO good. I made sure that my grandma told me everything she was doing, and I wrote it all down when we finished. It’s important to get these family recipes now!

STP64055

My grandma chopping up some bread πŸ™‚

I didn’t get pictures of every step but here’s a few.

STP64066

Monster pile of shredded chicken breasts.

STP64068

The aji amarillo I’m always talking about. Personally, I like the brand name πŸ˜‰

STP64065

Sorry, weird lighting! But this sauce is a mixture of garlic, onions, red pepper and yellow pepper sauces, chicken stock, milk, bread (bread is soaked in milk to thicken), and some spices. I don’t want to give away every family secret!

STP64072

Don’t be frightened by the off-putting color. After we add the chicken and some Parmesan cheese, we just let it stew for a while. It’s creamy, spicy, complex, and so delicious. I forgot how much I loved it!

A few other dishes were made, but those will wait for the next post.

And a couple more cake teasers….

STP64091

STP64090

STP64087

STP64089

Alright folks, I am exhausted! Weekends with the family always leave me tired, but in the best way possible.

November is a crazzzy month for my family. This coming week is my cousin Raulito and my Aunt Vicky’s birthdays. Both on Thursday! How cool to share a birthday with your mom πŸ˜€ And then my mom’s birthday on Saturday, and then mine the next Saturday! Someone’s gonna be legal finally!!!! The 19th is my uncle Shawn’s birthday. And we all the know the next weekend is Thanksgiving, mmm. And then to end the month in the best way possible…

My mom is coming on November 30th!!!!!!!! I can’t wait and am counting down the days. She’s the best ever ever ever and I miss her and all my family soo much! Luckily, I got to see my brother Stephen from New York this weekend, but you’ll see some pics of him later.

4565_1162819035094_1366394123_432189_4256206_n

This was taken in June at a wedding. Muah!! She’s the one I can thank for getting me into cooking, exercise, and of course FASHION! Thanks mama πŸ˜€

Okay, I can’t resist adding this picture of her taken this summer…

STP60562

Please notice where she is. Pretty sure one of the best days of her life! πŸ˜‰

Okay, NOW it is time for me to go. Lots of laundry and food to unpack. Oh dang it, I wanted to include pictures of my groceries. Okay, reaaally quick here we go:

STP64182

Frozen shrimp, Asian mix veggies, oat bran (finally!!!), pumpkin, aji amarillo, Ezekiel tortillas (yay!), a biggg bag of Gala apples for $3, one Honeycrisp, an acorn squash, and a KABOCHA squash. Sooo excited to finally try one! It better live up to all the hype…

STP64183

Of course, as I was taking those out to photograph I drop the Fage and it gets a crack in the side and I lose some. Luckily the crack is kind of closed. But why did it have to be my most favorite yogurt of all?!? Anyways, this picture is pretty self-explanatory. The Oikos were 4/$5, I should’ve gotten more!

Okay, I’m out for good!

5 Responses to “Max’s 1st Birthday”

  1. VeggieGirl November 8, 2009 at 6:41 PM #

    JIMMY CHOO!! A favorite of mine πŸ™‚

  2. grace -favorite sister (: November 8, 2009 at 8:23 PM #

    TINA,

    guess what!

    I GOT CHUBBY HUBBY! finally!
    I was almost starting to think they didn’t sell it in Washington. I guess we just have to iChat now and share yet another ben and jerry’s virtually (:

    i love you and miss you so much tenis.
    I am SO incredibly excited to see you on the 19th of december (: I decided to find a whole bunch of pictures of us, and I will have to send those some other time.

    have an amazing day!

    wuv,

    graceface

  3. Jeff Barr November 9, 2009 at 2:42 AM #

    Hi Tina, great update!

    Aji de gallina is one of my favorite Peruvian dishes.

    Grace ever so conveniently forgot to tell you that I was the one to find and purchase the pint of Chubby Hubby (Top Foods has a great selection).

    Love,

    Dad;

  4. Mom November 9, 2009 at 2:49 AM #

    Aahh, Aji de Gallina! Tina you are so lucky to be among so many good cooks in the family. I think it is a great idea to collect these wonderful recipes, especially mamitas. She will forget soon. Think how bless you are to have a great grandma who is 97 years old. I wish I could spend more time with her. Get her tamales recipes. They are the best.
    Please post pictures of Max’s birthday party. I’m dying to see everyone. Glad you had a good time with your brother.
    Love you enormously!!
    Mama

  5. dorothy November 9, 2009 at 4:56 PM #

    just found your blog and i love!

    jealous of your jimmy choo spreeee

    obran looks AMAZING i love yogurt pretzels πŸ™‚

    and, random but- your oikos containers look so much prettier than the ones i get here in ny at my super market.. haha

Leave a Reply

