Simple Yet Satisfying

4 Nov

I feel like I’m still off from Daylight Savings. I have been getting tired really early this week, and am always confused in the morning when it’s light out. It’s only 9:20 and I’ve been doing math for a LONG time and am ready for bed. Haha so lame! I should be staying up til 2am at least!

I was craving a simple bowl of oatmeal this morning, and that’s exactly what I had.

STP64015

The same mix as usual, topped with a tiny crumble of muffin, cinnamon, and a spoonful of peanut butter. I actually didn’t like just dumping the pb on there. It melted in and got lost! Boooo. Still tasted wonderful though.

Wow, my eyes are closing as I’m typing this. I wonder if I’ll be able to stay up and watch Top Chef.

I had the weirdest cravings for lunch today. All I knew was I wanted my brie cheese. I was sad I didn’t have any jam to pair with it, but then realized I had honey which would be perrrfect.

STP64016

A toasted sandwich thin spread with brie and honey, and a little bowl of edamame. So random, and another simple meal. That’s what I was all about today I guess. I actually wish I wouldn’t have melted the brie. I don’t think cheese (at least some of them) have nearly as much flavor when melted. I missed that strong brie flavor. Next time…

My friend Tiara and I volunteered at the co-op today. Another 3 hours! I have a lot of credit to spend there now 😀 I love it. We chopped a mountain (literally) of tomatoes and packaged up some snacks. Relaxing and rewarding!

I was pretty hungry when I got back, and made a delicious dinner.

STP64024

I was inspired by something Kath made yesterday, so I made a little variation of it. Turned out pretty good!

I steamed half of a sweet potato in the microwave for about 4 minutes. I diced it up once it was finished. In a pan, I cooked broccoli, a lot of spinach, red onions (the best), and a little cauliflower. I added the sweet potato after a little while just to brown it up a bit. I was going to have quinoa with this, but man good thing I didn’t! It was an overflowing bowl. Kath’s version still looks amazing, and i want to try something closer to hers next time. I love wilted spinach though!

Oh, and on top and on the side I dipped everything into the tahini sauce I made yesterday. It tastes SO good with sweet potatoes. I’m falling in love with tahini!

I bought a couple treats for myself today:

STP64027

A fresh loaf of bread from the co-op! This is called “Three Seed Healthy Loaf“. It’s from a local bakery. How cool is that?! It reminds me of the bread my family used to get at Whole Foods but then they stopped selling it. My sisters and I were legitimately sad about that! We still reminisce about how great that bread was. I just love (just wrote loave…) breads that have tons of seeds and grain in and on top of them.

STP64031

I couldn’t get a clear picture of this for the life of me. That’s what you get with fluorescent lighting. Anyways, some Cinnamon Apple Spice herbal tea. I love being wrapped up in a sweatshirt with a hot mug!

STP64036

And last but not least, some yogurt covered pretzels. I was packaging these up today and could not resist buying a bag. It’s actually a good amount, and as you can see, a great price. They’re are verrry tasty. A good oatmeal topping perhaps?!

Okay, I’m getting a little hungry. Plan for tonight is wash my face, read a little (maybe), have some ice cream, watch Top Chef, and go to bed! I think I’m going to attempt to go to the gym in the morning tomorrow while I still have the energy! Wish me luck 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Simple Yet Satisfying”

  1. Brandi November 5, 2009 at 9:51 AM #

    I think it’s so cool that you can volunteer there and get credit. I wish our little stores would do that here!

    I did NOT stay up to watch the new Top Chef. I just can’t do it! I’ve been so tired lately and the early darkness is not helping.

    • Tina November 5, 2009 at 12:35 PM #

      Ugh I feel ya! The darkness makes me tired soo early. You didn’t miss much though. It was a reunion of chefs from old seasons.

  2. Karina Pinzon November 5, 2009 at 3:41 PM #

    Bleh, I feel so tired too. I am lying on my couch right now catching up on my favorite blogs fixing to doze off.

    Brie=delightful. I have never thought of pairing brie with honey. Is that something people do often? Or are you just incredibly creative and original? I will feel very lame if this is a common thing to do with brie since I am such a cheese lover, hehe.

    You have such a great taste in food. I always come to your blog and covet your eats. You are awesome! Good luck 🙂

    <3Karina

    • Tina November 5, 2009 at 4:30 PM #

      Haha don’t feel lame! I think it’s kind of common?? I’m definitely not the first person to do it. Normally I eat it with this fig spread that you can find at Whole Foods…oh my goodness sooo good!

  3. littlemissminny November 5, 2009 at 5:45 PM #

    I too love whole wheat breads that are filled with seeds. They go great with anything, sweet or savory. Dinners looks great, thanks for the idea!

  4. Lauren November 7, 2009 at 5:12 PM #

    MMM lovin the veggies! P.s. I left you something on my blog. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

