A Usual Suspect

3 Nov

Two posts in one day?! Now that’s just crazy. Buuuut I pretty much have no homework tonight, and am just taking it easy.

I’ve had some really delicious meals today. Full of nutrients, just how I like them! My tummy was grumbling before I went to sociology, so I had a little snack.

STP63969

A tiny Tupperware container of Nature’s Path cereal, almond milk, a dash of cinnamon, and a tiny spoonful of peanut butter. When I say tiny container I mean it…

STP63970

This was such a perfect snack! It held me over perfectly yet didn’t make me lose my appetite for lunch.

And that turned out to be a good thing because I had quite the lunch planned out.

STP63973

First up: sauteed Asian mix veggies, broccoli, and some zucchini.

STP63974

Falafel and half of a toasted pita.

STP63972

And a little hummus and a tahini dressing I whipped up. This was about 2 tbs tahini, a squirt of honey, salt, vinegar, and water. Oh, and a little paprika for color šŸ˜› It was good! And went perfectly well with the falafel.

And all together:

STP63975

This filled me up perfectly for a fun afternoon…

In DC!! My friend and I are both in the same art history class, and we have a term paper coming up. We have to look at two paintings and write a paper comparing them. Since we both had time today, we decided to head to the National Gallery of Art.

I can’t believe I haven’t taken more advantage of the city I live in. I absolutely loved it there! I didn’t know I enjoyed art so much. Well, that’s not completely true, but I feel like I understand and notice the smaller details now. Someday I want to go there and just sit and stare for hours.

This is one of the paintings I’ll be writing about.

“A Painter’s Studio” by Louis-Leopold Boilly, c. 1800

BOILLY_A_Painters_Studio_c1800_NGA_source_sandstead_d2h_005

So much detail and things to see! I love it. I love this period of art, and pieces like this. I’m not so much into the 1200-1400s. Love it!

It was a beautiful day today, and we walked around for a while after the museum.

STP63979

STP63981

The Lonely Soldier.

STP64002

STP63995

STP64008

Fun day!

I was pretty starving when I got back, and I made something I’ve been craving for a while.

STP64011

Baked tofu!!! Oh, how I’ve missed you. Atop the usual suspects of assorted veggies. And quinoa on the bottom (I still have so much to eat through!). And of course, a stir fry is not complete without peanut sauce. For the tofu, I just patted them dry, and rubbed them with a little honey, vinegar, salt, and paprika. Baked at 425 for about 25 minutes, flipped once, and it was perfection. Perfectly crispy and awesome. I can’t wait to make this more!

Oh, I also opened up this baby this afternoon…

STP63976

Normally, I’d pick dark chocolate over milk chocolate any day, but I felt like trying this first. This was one of the lovely samples I was sent from Newman’s Own Organics. Soooo good! I don’t think I’ve had pure milk chocolate in a long time. It was extremely creamy and just the perfect amount of sweetness. Definitely would recommend it!

Oh, just now as I was linking to their site it says on their homepage that their line of chocolate bars is new! Cool beans. Please click on that.

Alrighty, I’m tired. This time change is killing me! I feel so lame getting tired and it’s only 9:45. But I’m going to give in, because I don’t want to be tired for the rest of the week.

Good night! šŸ˜€

6 Responses to “A Usual Suspect”

  1. brandi November 4, 2009 at 10:02 AM #

    that cereal snack is so cute! I’m thinking of doing baked tofu tonight!

  2. dailygoods November 4, 2009 at 11:15 AM #

    omg falafelssssss! they look amazing!! šŸ™‚ love that you went to the museums!

  3. sue November 4, 2009 at 6:29 PM #

    i’d love to visit the national gallery! art history was one of my fave subjects in school šŸ™‚

  4. dorothy November 9, 2009 at 5:05 PM #

    yum falafel šŸ™‚

    youre sucha cutie love your sneaks girl!

    • Tina November 9, 2009 at 6:21 PM #

      Awh thank you! And I love falafel too šŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Simple Yet Satisfying « Healthyterp's Blog - November 4, 2009

    […] About Me ← A Usual Suspect […]

Leave a Reply

