German Night (Finally!)

30 Oct

I have some extra time this morning, so I thought I’d put up some pictures from the German Night that was more than a few weeks ago now!

We have a few German guys in our dorm, Claudius and Holke, so my committee (we’re in charge of food events, perfect right?!) decided we should have a German night.

On the menu were Bavarian meatballs, German potato salad, and a radish type salad. And then of course, my apple dessert!

Claudius made the meatballs and he said it was a recipe his mom taught him. How cute, I know 😛

DSC00896

The chef! He’s a funny guy. He’s a grad student, and very smart. It was cool seeing that he knew how to cook!

From this:

DSC00894

To this:

DSC00906

These were beef meatballs. We also had pork ones. They were full of onions, and were perfectly crunchy on outside and cooked on the inside. Salty and good! And that takes a lot for me to say beef is good 😉

DSC00900

The giant bowls of potato salad. German potato salad is different in that it is made with chicken broth, not a gross mixture of mayonaisse and sour cream. I think there were pickles and onions in here as well.

DSC00902

Radishes and onions. I guess Germans really like onions or something…?

DSC00897

The apple cake pre-oven. I just found a recipe online and went off that. I made Claudius verify that it was actually German, haha. I think it’s called Apfel Kutchen. Something like that. Basically, apple cake. Everyone loved it and ate it SO quick. I barely came out of the kitchen! And I made two of them.

DSC00893

My labor of love.

And a close-up:

DSC00891

Simple and delicious! The crust was buttery and crumbly, and how can that be a bad mix with apples and cinnamon? That’s right, it CAN’T! If only there were some peanut butter…now that would be perfection.

DSC00909

The spread of goodies.

And that’s it! I hope you all enjoyed it. I can’t wait til our next dinner night. We have so much fun in our dorm, celebrating all of the different cultures. And if it involves food…even better. When the words “free” and “food” are combined in an event, you bet that everyone’s coming out of their rooms and seeing what’s up.

I’m doing some laundry now, and am brainstorming a lunch. I think my friend and I are volunteering at the co-op this afternoon. And then I’m going to a Haunted Forest tonight! Woooooo!

Have a great Halloween weekend everyone!

3 Responses to “German Night (Finally!)”

  1. Lauren October 30, 2009 at 1:35 PM #

    I’ve never made German food, but loved it when I went to Germany. Looks awesome and fun!

  2. mom November 1, 2009 at 3:36 PM #

    Will you please get the recipe for those meatballs? They look wonderful!

  3. mom November 1, 2009 at 11:53 PM #

    La comida Alemana parece muy deliciosa!
    Claudius es muy guapo. ha ha

Leave a Reply

