Blah

29 Oct

Describes my mood today. I’m not 100% sure why, but it’s just been a quiet day. Having two roommates is tiring, especially two roommates who are best friends. And ones that act as though they are so much older than you (try months!). Ugh. It’s all part of the wonderful college experience though right?! One of my close friends hates her roommate and we are basically dying to live together. Now I just have to get rid of mine…

Not everything has been a downer though! Yesterday I had a leftover pupusa for lunch, and that was a big highlight.

STP63907

Ohhh, so cheesy and good. I tried toasting it on the stove instead of in the microwave to crisp it up a bit. It kind of worked. On the side I just had some random mixed veggies and a lil blob of hummus.

Last night was International Movie Night, and we watched Sin Nombre. It was about gangs and immigrants. Uhhhh…it was very gory. But I was definitely on the edge of my seat the whole time!

Breakfast this morning was inspired by none other than the wonderful Kailey, aka Snackface. I wanted a change from oatmeal (even though I could happily eat it everyday), so I tried her yogurt + pumpkin +banana mixture for a delicious bowl this morning.

STP63911

I mixed 1/2 c yogurt with pumpkin and cinnamon, and a touch of honey to chill overnight. In the morning, I added a sliced verrryyy ripe banana (so sweet and creamy), a handful of Nature’s Path Maple Pecan Crunch cereal. I definitely recommend this cereal. It stays really crunchy, has the perfect touch of sweetness, and has whole pecans and clusters in it. It went perfectly with the bowl. Topped off with a spoonful of peanut butter and a shower of cinnamon, my breakfast was filling and satisfying.

After two classes I came back, g-mail chatted with my mama, made some art history notecards (exam on tuesday…grrr), and then was off to sociology. I sat by my friend, and we just barely clung to consciousness as my teacher went on and on about the closing gap between men and women.

I was absolutely starving when I got out and had created this meal in my head during lecture:

STP63912

Not the prettiest picture ever, but this was so good. I even texted my sister and mom letting them know how much I was enjoying it πŸ˜›

You can’t see it, but on the bottom of the bowl was quinoa, and then topped with broccoli, cauliflower, spinach, cucumber, carrots, a few beans, and chicken (surprise!). I haven’t had any meat from the school since I’ve been here. My mom’s been encouraging me to get more meat (concerns of lack of iron) so I got a rotisserie chicken breast. It wasn’t too bad! I just tossed the skin, pulled pieces off the bones, and warmed it up with the veggies.

I also made another delicious peanut sauce. I didn’t measure obviously but it had about 2 TBS peanut butter, squirt of honey, dash of vinegar, pinch of salt, squeeze of hot sauce (are you loving all these different measurement descriptions?), and hot water to thin it out. I used to make bowls like this ALL the time at home. They’re so warm, filling, and nutritious.

I just got back from a lovely sweat session at the gym. It was very needed to clear my head. Now I think I’m going to buy some food for some hungry boys who have run out of dining points πŸ˜€ I have too much to spare!

Here’s to a great Friday with no drama!!! πŸ˜€

 

5 Responses to “Blah”

  1. VeggieGirl October 29, 2009 at 6:50 PM #

    Wishing you a better tomorrow!

    • Tina October 29, 2009 at 7:38 PM #

      Thank you πŸ™‚

  2. The Foodie Diaries October 29, 2009 at 8:25 PM #

    Glad your peanut sauce experimentation is going well. It makes anything taste better, doesn’t it??

    I feel you on the roomie woes; I definitely wasn’t compatible with my first… but my closest friend freshman yr basically lived in our room and eventually my assigned roommate offered to swap with my friend. it was glorious haha. wishng you luck with that!

  3. mom November 1, 2009 at 3:33 PM #

    Remember, always try to see the best in people.

  4. mom November 1, 2009 at 11:49 PM #

    BTW, why do you have so many extra dining points?? Remember to add more iron in your diet!

    Lots of Love,
    Mom (:

Leave a Reply

