Unexpected

20 Oct

Great day. I honestly wasn’t looking forward to today because of my soc exam. But somehow, everything was awesome! First of all, it was sunny and 70 degrees today. Helllooooo warmth! I missed you very very much.

Okay, well I started the day off on the right foot with this:

STP63694

Two slices of pumpkin bread with a smear of almond butter. So delectable. Really, the best pumpkin bread ever! I’m trying to get the recipe from my sister. I’ve never had such moist bread! Here’s just another beauty shot for kicks:

STP63696

The seeds on top are just tooooo pretty!

While I was studying and waiting to go take my exam, I had a cool snack. I don’t know why I find it so funny.

STP63698

A perfectly ripe banana with all 4 of my nut butters!! Haha. I was gonna just do one, but I thought what the hey…let’s do it all. Probably like 2 tsp in all. But from bottom to top we have my beloved 365 Crunchy PB, Maranatha Almond butter, Valencia Roasted PB, and Cinnamon Raisin Swirl PB. Soooo good! I love them all, but seriously nothing beats my Whole Foods peanut butter. It’s perfect!

I was quite nervous for my test. There are 12 multiple choice, 2 short answer, and 1 essay. By the end, I totally felt like my hand was gonna fall off from writing so fast and furiously. But I think I killed that essay!! All that time studying definitely paid off πŸ™‚

I got a pretty exciting e-mail when I got back, but more on that another time πŸ˜›

My stomach was growwwling during the test (luckily everyone was so focused they probably didn’t notice. I went to the dining hall, picked up a few things and got to work in the basement kitchen.

STP63702

I stir-fried a mix of broccoli, cucumber, chickpeas, tempeh, and spinach. I added a little chopped avocado and goat cheese for creaminess. I seasoned it with a little ginger, lemon, parsley, paprika, and salt. I feel like I’ve been slacking with my greens lately and this was just soooo good. Oh my. I wish I could eat and have time to do this everyday!

Feeling inspired by Heather, I got a tub of tahini this weekend. I’ve always loved tahini and we used it at home all the time, but I never thought I’d buy my own. But all those great recipes got me craving it. I made a little dipping sauce to have on the side. This absolutely completed the dish!

STP63705

I basically combined a little less than a TBS of tahini, some lemon juice, a little honey, a tiny bit of peanut butter, and salt. I also added some water to thin it out. After I took the photo I actually added even more water and it was much better for dipping. I can’t wait to try more stuff with the tahini! Mmm, such a good and nourishing lunch πŸ˜€

Oh yeah, to add to the joyfulness of the day, the last episode of Biggest Loser was on Hulu for me to enjoy while eating. Life is great, right?!

After my afternoon class, I actually had time for the gym!! I didn’t have any time last week, and I had zero motivation to walk 15 minutes through the floods to get to the rec center. I’m so soo sooo glad I went today. It felt so great to get some activity in finally.

I took a nice hot shower, did my dishes, and had my favorite dinner ever. I was going to save this for another night but I thought, “What better way to end such a great day?” Plus all the protein in this dinner was good for me after that gym session πŸ˜€

STP63708

The infamous Fage 2%, Kashi Go Lean Crunch, and a buttload of cinnamon. And a little almond butter on my spoon. Honestly, I add more cinnamon after each layer.

You know what’s coming…

STP63711

The most beautiful perfectly ripe banana (we’re talking yellow with lots of light brown spots), and a scoop of peanut butter.

Bliss, pure bliss I tell ya!

Now I’m just writing this post and listening to Saosin (btdubs B & G, you need to upload the new album and send it to me!!) and am about to do math homework and study for a quiz. The room is clean, and I am happy!

What was the best part of your day today?! I’d love to hear!! πŸ˜€

5 Responses to “Unexpected”

  1. traynharder23 October 20, 2009 at 9:25 PM #

    getting a big hug from my friend D. i missed him this weekend. that and getting hilarious comments from peeps.

  2. brandi October 21, 2009 at 9:12 AM #

    best part of my day is getting an exciting email, too πŸ™‚

    i love the nut butter tasting plate πŸ™‚

  3. brianna October 21, 2009 at 9:43 AM #

    The loaf looks absolutely delish! Haha I love how you had four different types of pb with your naner, awesome! Thanks for the really sweet words on my post =)

  4. Lauren October 21, 2009 at 2:53 PM #

    WOW-your dinner looks delish! It’s making me hungry!

  5. Karina Pinzon October 21, 2009 at 5:45 PM #

    Um…… YUM.
    This entire day looks like… akeghw4pyutw4joghoiwrjlgsakjg so delicious!
    Your snack plate, your brekkie, your dinner.
    You have fantastic snack ideas, you know.
    I’m going to borrow some of them πŸ™‚

    Your comment on my post put a smile on my face, by the way. I love your blog a lot too, girl!

    Have a great day,
    <3Karina

Leave a Reply

