So much food.

19 Oct

So basically, my fridge is stocked right now. I can barely fit anything in there! But I’d way rather have it that way than empty 🙂

This needs to be quick because I need to get to bed. I got less than 5 hours of sleep last night and I have a midterm tomorrow. Staying up all night studying does not help me before a test! And I have time in the morning, plus I’ve been looking at this stuff since yesterday morning. Wish me luck though! Haha.

My memory card has been very bipolar lately. It can’t decide whether it wants to work or not. For the last few weeks it’s only been letting me hold 8 pictures at a time. Yeah 8!! That was painful, let me tell ya. Then on Saturday and Sunday it just doesn’t work. Lo and behold, I turn it on today, and I can hold over 500 pictures again! Yayyy!

Considering my 5 hour rest last night, I wanted something quick for breakfast.

STP63658

Two slices of my banana bread and a banana. And a little peanut butter to make it complete. I got to the under baked center of the bread and BOY was it good. I told my mom next time I make it I’m going to just pour the batter in the pan and eat it like that. I’m telling you, severely under baked is the way to go 😀

After my math class and before my history lecture I had another slice of bread. Yet I was starvvving again during art history. All that studying must have revved up my metabolism or something?!

I came up with this lunch during art history. I mean…after art history.

STP63665

A toasted sandwich thin with avocado (with lemon juice and salt) on one side, goat cheese and a touch of Dijon on the other, with tempeh (sprinkled with chili powder and dried cilantro), and a squeeze of hot sauce. Genius.

STP63666

A few rice crackers and extra tempeh that didn’t fit.

STP63667

A little extra “guac” and lunch was complete! I love having something different, and this was totally filling and delicious.

Today I went to the journalism career fair. It was interesting. Basically they had all these booths set up and you just went up and talked to the people. There were a bunch of local news stations, radios, NPR, and other internship programs. I also went to see this woman who’s a broadcast journalist. She showed us a bunch of her videos of her anchoring and reporting. It was pretty cool. And she only graduated TWO years ago. It’s crazy to see how successful she is. But she told us that journalism isn’t as glamorous as it appears. I don’t want to do broadcast, but I think some of the girls think it would just be so fun to be on camera, but they forget about all the other stuff they have to do!

When I got back to my room, I saw the notification that I had a package. Anyone in college (or I guess just anyone), aren’t packages the most amazing things ever?!?! It was just the absolute highlight of my day. I knew something was coming from home and here’s what I got:

STP63676

HOMEMADE PUMPKIN BREAD!!!!!!!!!!!! I cannot even express how excited I was for this!! My roommates can attest to that. I was actually expecting some of my mom’s homemade bread that she’s famous for, but was totally surprised to see this! I immediately texted my mom and sisters and said thank you! My sister Bianca told me that she actually made it herself. But mom, I know you paid for it, and Grace I’m sure you did something, haha 😀 Love you all sooo much! Oh yeah, Bianca said she didn’t even use canned pumpkin–it was all totally fresh, including the seeds. Can we just examine the gorgeousness of this again?

STP63677

Ahhh. I immediately cut a little piece off the end, and man…freaking amazing. It is SO moist. Considering my mom sent it on Wednesday, it held up so well. I need to eat it all before it gets dry! I may have to recruit some boys from upstairs to help me…what a hard job for them 😛

Basically, you’ll be seeing a lot of this bread in the coming days.

Some awesome library time was up next. I was there for like an hour and a half. Boring, but I got work done. Then I got a really bad headache sooo I headed back to the dorm.

Not sure what I did for a while, but dinner came eventually.

STP63681

Oh yes, a yummy cup of tea. How cute is that cup? Someone gave it to me a long time ago. I drank sooo much tea at my aunt’s house this weekend, so I’m kind of hooked. It just feels so good when it’s cold out. I really need mugs though! This is my only one. I wish I would’ve thought to bring more. Mom, when you visit I need these!

STP63682

Vegetarian chili with avocado, plain yogurt, goat cheese, and hot sauce. I still have one more Tupperware full of chili so be prepared to see that this week! Seriously though, put avocado on your chili. It’s so good.

After a good amount of studying, I needed some dessert. I think you know what I had!

STP63686

A slice of pumpkin bread and a slice of banana bread. See the ooey gooey center? Mmmm! Not gonna lie, totally went back for a third piece after this. I can’t let it go bad right?!

Oh yeah, so my roommate just walked in like 10 minutes ago and she made this thing called tortilla de patatas. It’s a Spanish dish, and she tried to make it last week but kind of failed haha. Her words, not mine! It was so pretty so I took a picture!

STP63693

Look at those nice layers and the brown crust! I would’ve tried it if I hadn’t just brushed my teeth. Andy, I think you should learn how to make this! It’s seems like a cheap dish, and I bet you’d like it!

Okay, time for bed FINALLY. I can’t wait to get in there.

Thanks to all my new readers who’ve been commenting! You make me so happy 😀

Goodnight!

6 Responses to “So much food.”

  1. VeggieGirl October 20, 2009 at 6:31 AM #

    Lovely bread!

  2. brandi October 20, 2009 at 9:41 AM #

    that bread looks awesome!

    good luck on the test today 🙂

  3. homegirlcaneat October 20, 2009 at 10:18 AM #

    OMG I am SO jealous of an OVERSTOCKED FRIDGE and that pumpkin bread!!!!

  4. HealthySDLiving October 20, 2009 at 11:23 AM #

    Omg homemade pumpkin bread sounds amazing right now–I want some! 🙂

  5. Lauren October 20, 2009 at 3:43 PM #

    Wow-everything looks incredible! I’ll have to try your guac, tempeh sandwich. I’m making pumpkin bread this weekend and CAN NOT WAIT!

  6. mom October 21, 2009 at 1:56 AM #

    Mmmm…I have to try to make that tortilla de patatas. Looks good. I’m glad your having fun sweetheart. xo

Leave a Reply

