Just like home

17 Oct

Mmmm. I just had such a great dinner and a fabulous evening with my aunt, uncle, cousin, and grandma!

After they picked me up, we went to Whole Foods!!!! It just felt so right being there 🙂 I’ll put up pictures of my loot after I show you my delicious dinner.

Giselle was craving salmon like crazy and I suggested a few things we could do with it. We kept everything pretty simple, and that’s when things taste best in my humble opinion.

The preparation:

IMG_1352

How cute is that newspaper wrapping?! I love it. I believe this was wild Coho salmon. Salmon always makes me think of my beloved Seattle, hence the title of this post. This was such a meal I would’ve eaten at home!

IMG_1356

Giselle topped the salmon with sliced shallots, lemon, dill, salt, and pepper. Amazing and genius combo!

I put together a simple salad.

IMG_1364

Spring greens, chickpeas, sliced heirloom tomatoes, and vinaigrette. It had mustard, red wine vinegar, salt, pepper, and olive oil. My sister Bianca is still the dressing queen though! 😉 Girl, you know you work it with that DIJON.

I don’t know where that came from I swear…

IMG_1349

Some yummy black beans! I always love black beans. I asked my mom to make them in huge batches at home all the time 🙂 Simply the best!

IMG_1366

Salmon nearing perfection.

IMG_1370

Rice with mixed vegetables and lottts of garlic. The only way to go!

IMG_1373

All together now…and my plate:

IMG_1376

Most def had seconds!

Giselle and Shawn had some reeeally ripe bananas that were just begging to be baked. Not one to deny a banana, I made my favorite banana bread:

IMG_1381

Haha, I promise these weren’t my slices with all that butta on it. We actually made 3 mini-loaves instead of one big one! I like my banana bread severely underbaked and gooey, but Giselle and Shawn prefer it perfectly cooked. I actually baked mine too long still but oh well. Oh yeah! And we didn’t use peanut butter either. They only have sunflower seed butter so we used that instead! And it was 100% whole wheat. Soooo good! Seriously, try this recipe. It only has 2 tbs of butter, and is just super yummy and moist. Apparently my grandma said it was the “best banana bread I’ve ever had”. Score!! If grandma likes it, it must be good 😛

I actually took pictures of the entire process, but my camera memory card is corrupt and giving me problems. Dad, I need help! Giselle and I actually decided that my camera is too old to handle a 4G memory card. Let me know what we should do!

Well, I’m about to sip some tea, watch tv, and veg on the couch. Tomorrow’s gonna be allll about studying 😦

Goooodnight!

12 Responses to “Just like home”

  1. Peanut Butter Bliss October 18, 2009 at 9:19 AM #

    oh goodness that salmon looks amazing 😀
    good luck with studying!

  2. Bianca!!!! October 18, 2009 at 11:56 AM #

    Wow tina i forgot about your weirdness. Salmon looks amazing! Believe it or not, I’ve gotten more vegetarian everyday. I only eat meat for dinner maybe once a week. Who would’ve thunk it?!

  3. Lara (Thinspired) October 18, 2009 at 11:59 AM #

    Your dinner looks so fresh, healthy, and tasty! I don’t think I have ever tried coho salmon before. Is it much different in taste from Atlantic salmon?

    Whole Foods always puts me in a good mood 🙂

    • Tina October 18, 2009 at 1:21 PM #

      I’m not really sure about the difference in taste. I’ve had salmon so many times and so many kinds that I can’t recall individual ones now haha. I’ll have to do a side-by-side taste test to tell 🙂

  4. Lara (Thinspired) October 18, 2009 at 12:00 PM #

    P.S. Thank you for passing along that fried rice recipe–looks like a good one!

  5. Lauren October 18, 2009 at 2:37 PM #

    Wow Tina-
    Your dinner looks amazing! I’ll have to try my salmon like that. How do you prepare those black beans? I’ve never had them like that before.
    Lauren

    • Tina October 18, 2009 at 5:36 PM #

      Thank you! It was definitely delicious 🙂

      My aunt did the black beans but it’s pretty simple. We sauteed some shallots and garlic in a bit of olive oil and then added a big can of black beans. Oh, I think we might have added cumin seeds too. Then just salt & pepper, and let it cook away! I think the key is to let it cook a while and reduce down so it gets nice and thick.

  6. Lele October 18, 2009 at 4:13 PM #

    That salmon looks gorgeous! I’m definitely craving some now!

  7. Courtney (The Hungry Yogini) October 19, 2009 at 11:47 AM #

    Holy cow!? When can I come over for dinner!? Looks amazing!

  8. Karina Pinzon October 19, 2009 at 12:06 PM #

    Wow, everything you ate looks so fresh and wholesome.
    I’m going to beg mom to make salmon tonight, you dinner looks beautiful.

    Have a great day!
    <3Karina

  9. HealthySDLiving October 19, 2009 at 12:14 PM #

    Oh WOW this looks aaaamazing! That salmon just looks so delicious!

  10. Naomi(onefitfoodie) October 19, 2009 at 8:15 PM #

    your salmon dinner looks soo good! I had roasted salmon tonight too and it was soo good! I have been used to grilling it during the summer I forgot how good oven roasted salmon could be!

    banana bread looks SO GOOD! 🙂

    lovin your blog girl!

Leave a Reply

