I’m Chili and Cold

16 Oct

Okay, this rain has got to stop. It totally robs me of my motivation to do anything. I only had one class today, and I very seriously considered going to the gym but decided I was wayyy too cold to make it over there. The high today is 43. Sooo gross! I’m pretty sure it’s raining everywhere though…on facebook all my seattle people are complaining about it, and even some in California too! At least the rain gives me an excuse to stay in sweats all day πŸ˜€

I’m trying to be a little different with breakfast so I came up with something a bit new for your viewing pleasure (and my taste bud’s pleasure)

Peanut Butter and Jelly Pretzel Oats:

STP63617

Here is 1/2 c oats, 1 c H2O, 1/2 nanner, and lotttss of cinnamon. Cooked that up in the micro this morning for a hot 3 minutes then added my toppings. I put a little dollop of strawberry jam in the center, surrounded by some crumbled peanut butter pretzels. Also a little bit of Kashi for exxxtra crunch. And a spoonful of my new peanut butter. This doesn’t stay on the spoon very well and so I attempted to drizzle it on everything else.

STP63619

Mhmm, you like that? I sure did! Peanut butter and jelly is just so classic and delicious.
Rainy weather gives me suuuch a desire to bake. Like it’s kind of ridiculous. I debated for a while walking over to the Commons shop and a few other places to get what I need. In the end, I bundled up with a t-shirt, sweater, sweatshirt, and my Northface. Oh, and some gloves. I’m one of those eternally cold people okay?? I basically power walked it over to everywhere I needed to go. I got a lotttt of good stuff! πŸ˜€

STP63621

At the Commons shop I picked up: a pizza pan (to use for cookies, sweet potatoes fries (!!!), roasting squash and other veggies, and I’ve been dying to try an Amy’s pizza too!), some bread tins (for my favorite banana bread), an avocado, and rice crackers. Such a random trip. And then a few bananas at the dining hall for the bread πŸ˜€

Then at another end of campus I went to the Union shop and got this:

STP63623

Some baking soda, Pam, and brown sugar. This is granulated brown sugar–weirdest thing I’ve ever seen. Gotta do with what I got though!

Next up, I went down to the co-op! I’m in love with this place now. I’m so so SO glad I volunteered there. It’s such a great place. And they put a lot of care into making homemade and delicious food.

STP63624

Almond milk (finally!!! My oats will be creamy once again), and Maranatha Almond Butter!! Guess how much this baby was….$3.44. Mhmm, not too shabby right? Holy moly, I just looked that up online and it costs $12.49!!! I could get like 3 or 4 at the co-op for that price! And I got to use my store credit that I earned the other day so I handed over none of my own money πŸ™‚

Actually, since I was using my student account, I handed over no cash or my debit card for everrrythang. Feels so right. And I deserve it, after the ridiculous amount of money tuition is.

I was freeeezing when I finally made it back and just craved something hot and filling.I have lottts of chili still so I heated up a bowl of that.

STP63627

Vegetarian chili with a dollop of yogurt and a few chunks of avocado, sprinkled with cinnamon. I squeezed some lemon juice and sprinkled some salt on the avocado too. My mom always would give us avocado on top of our chili. This is where I actually started to like it! Just last year if you believe it. I always thought I hated avocado and never ate guacamole, but I learned to love it through eating it on top of chili. Now I can’t get enough of the creamy goodness. Thanks mom, MUAH! πŸ˜€

Ok, it’s 3:30 and I’ve really done nothing all day. I ran into my friend in the basement and we decided tonight is gonna be all about making cookies and watching movies. I can’t wait!

8 Responses to “I’m Chili and Cold”

  1. brandi October 16, 2009 at 3:22 PM #

    ah, I need to try this pretzel on oatmeal combo!

  2. Karina Pinzon October 16, 2009 at 3:48 PM #

    Gasp! I swear your breakfast gave me a mini heart attack.
    I get those a lot but, goodness! It looks absolutely scrumptious….

    Ah, have a wonderful weekend, dear!
    <3Karina

  3. brianna October 16, 2009 at 4:03 PM #

    sweat deal on the maranatha! That shiz is expensive even at costco! Lovin the breaky to… and the veggie chili! Have a nice night in!

  4. julie October 16, 2009 at 4:47 PM #

    ugh I LOVE that you put PB pretzels in your oats! so genius! have a fun night πŸ™‚

  5. traveleatlove October 16, 2009 at 8:47 PM #

    I want almond butter and jelly oats! Now I am having them before I go volunteer dog walking tomorrow, thanks for the inspiration πŸ™‚

  6. Peanut Butter Bliss October 16, 2009 at 9:29 PM #

    pb & j oats with pretzels is probably one of my favorite combos for breakkie.

  7. jocelynsteiber October 17, 2009 at 10:13 AM #

    Hey there-

    That’s so great that you got such a bargain for the almond butter!! I pay an arm and a leg for that. Sooo good though.

    I’m enjoying all of your meals! I’ll have to keep coming back for more : )

    Health & Happiness,
    Jocelyn

    • Tina October 17, 2009 at 10:21 AM #

      Thank you! I’m glad you’re enjoying it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

