Ups & Downs

15 Oct

Okay. I know I said it has been so cold and bad here this week, but today topped it all. It was SO cold and has rained non-stop. From the time I woke up at 6:45 until now at 8:30, it hasn’t stopped at all. Grossssss! And it’s windy which makes it worse. Even umbrellas can’t stop that rain from getting at you! I totally saw a guy’s umbrella turn inside out. Poor dude.

Moving on…there were also many good parts of the day!

Let’s start at the beginning, shall we?

STP63588

Something that’s never been seen before, right? Just kidding. Hmm, the only thing different about these oats is I had a spoonful of Cinnamon Raisin Swirl peanut butter. My mom tells me that people already understand that I eat oatmeal so now I need to move on to something else. Crazy?!? I think so. Who wouldn’t crave a hot bowl of sweet goodness every morning? I do want to get new things but I haven’t had the chance to go to a grocery store in a while soooo until then, I do with what I can!

After power walking my way to and from class (seriously, I was moving FAST), I came back to my room to chill for a couple hours til my next class. Got a little hungry sooo I had a snack.

STP63592

The last of my cottage cheese (sniff), a few Kashis, and a little dollop of strawberry jam. Mom, I still want your homemade raspberry and strawberry jam! This doesn’t even compare.

Then I draaagggged myself onto my sociology class. Tried very hard and succeeded at keeping my eyes open 90% of the time. But I got through it because I had something fun to do afterwards!

My Aunt Beth and Grandpa Steve came to have lunch with me! My grandpa lives back in Seattle, and my aunt lives an hour or so away from my school. It was so nice to see them šŸ™‚ We went to the co-op, got some food (no pics sorrrry! I wasn’t that hungry from my snack and had this. Tasted scarily similar to Trix yogurt.), and chatted. I also showed them my dorm, and before they left they gave me the best thing ever!

A bag of fooood!! What more could a broke college student want right?? šŸ˜‰ Here’s the swag:

STP63594

Cereal! And I love all of Nature’s Path cereals. I’ve been dying to try a new cereal and can’t wait to open this one.

STP63596

Brown Rice Syrup. I have alwaayyys wanted to try this but didn’t want to shell out the money. I am definitely going to make some granola with this! Sooo excited šŸ˜€

STP63598

5 GIANT sweet potatoes. Seriously, do you see this thing?? Bigger than my hand. I’m going to buy some aluminum trays and make fries!! I need something different than always microwaving these babies–as good as that is.

And last but not least…

STP63600

PEANUT BUTTER!!! Oh man. I’ve already tried this a couple times today and it is SO good. It’s reeaally roasted and has no salt, so all you get is that roasty toasty peanut flava. It’s rich and awesome. As much as I love my beloved peanut butter, I’ve been wanting to branch out a little. This one is a little runny and I’m excited to pour it on to my oats.

Thank you Aunt Beth and Grandpa Steve soo so much for coming and for the treats! I can’t wait until I see you both again šŸ˜€ Lots of love to both you!

Sadly, we only had about an hour to spend together until I had to rush off to another class. But at least I got an essay back. My grade was a B/B+. I don’t really know what that means…which one is it?! But i was kind of expecting to do badly so this was a nice surprise! My TA wrote that I have A potential. Haha. Good to know!

At 5, my friend David and I actually went to this cooking club! Tonight was falafel night. I’m weirdly in love with falafels and everything Mediterranean so I was pretty pumped to go. I didn’t take pictures but I had a good time. It was honestly a little different than I was expecting. There wasn’t a TON to do, but it was cool. It wasn’t like a full dinner, but I had one dipped in a tzatziki sauce we made and it was surprisingly really good! I think the people cooking it didn’t have the heat on high enough because they had the falafel balls in there for a minute or more. When our family made them one time, they cooked in about 15-30 seconds. Since it was so fast, not much oil was absorbed and they weren’t greasy. They were a little greasy tonight :/ Oh well! I totally would’ve pan fried or baked them. I’m definitely going to do that here sometime!

Thursdays there are also free vegetarian cooking classes at the co-op and I think I’m going to start going to those.

I was craving a biggg bowl of veggies for dinner, so I braved it, power walked to the dining hall, got a bunch of stuff, and came back to cook.

Here’s what I ended up with:

STP63603

Lots of broccoli, some cauliflower, corn, garbanzos, jalapenos, cucumbers, carrots, spinach, with a sunny-side up egg on top. With hot sauce. And I squeezed lemon all over! Sooo satisfying.

Thanks to all my new readers out there! I love hearing from you all šŸ™‚

All I want to do right now is curl up in bed and watch a movie but unfortunately I have a midterm next week and I should probably get crackin on the book. Ew. Guns, Germs, and Steel anyone?

What’s your favorite thing to do when it’s raining, cold, and gross outside?

I just put on my biggest and most comfy sweats, long socks, and curl up in my blanket. Maybe sip on some tea and either read or watch a movie.

One Response to “Ups & Downs”

  1. Jeff Barr October 16, 2009 at 2:22 AM #

    Hi Tina, Guns, Germs, and Steel is one of my favorite books. It is well written and gives a great perspective on history.

    Great to hear that you had a good time with my sister and my dad!

Leave a Reply

