A Day at the Co-op

14 Oct

Buenos tardes mis amigas!

Right now I’m chillllin, watching a movie with the roomies. But as soon as it’s done I’m going to study. Really. I’m going to.

Oh my goodness! It is soo cold here now. There was really no transition from summer to fall. It feels like winter. Which scares me because I don’t know what it’s actually going to be like in the winter.

Breakfast was actually different today! wooooo go me…

STP63580

Started with a juuuuicy Fuji apple, dusted in cinnamon.

STP63582

And a raisin bran muffin. It’s so hard to get good pictures when the only light I can turn on at that hour is my desk light. I love these muffins, they’re so yummmmy!

This week I had decided I was definitely going to make time to volunteer at the co-op. I’ve been wanting to ALL year and finally got around to it! I was honestly a little nervous to, just because there are always so many people and ah! Wednesdays are good days for me sooo I went!

But first up was a quick lunch:

STP63584

A Dr. P burger, sandwich thin with hummus, grapes, broccoli, and a little Dijon and yogurt on the side for dipping. This did the trick and held me over for quite a while.

I’m so glad I did! I had a lot of fun. I volunteered for 3 hours, but it honestly didn’t feel like it. Basically, I just walked in, told the guy I wanted to volunteer and he took me right in! All the volunteers are required to wear their hair back in a hat or bandana, and they have a ton of different koooky hats in the back. I grabbed this one that was all furry and had a tail. This girl kept calling me Davy Crockett haha.

So when your a volunteer you basically work on whatever the workers tell you to. First, I washed, scrubbed, and cut a huuuge mountain of potatoes. I love chopping stuff. Seriously, it’s therapeutic! Then I put a bunch of dried pineapple rings into bags. I also made some burritoes! They actually looked really good, and I can’t wait to get some for lunch sometime. They were whole wheat tortillas, brown rice, black beans, salsa, and cheese. Yum! And then we scale them and put price tags on them. I met a bunch of great people, and it was so fun being in a kitchen. They make EVERYTHING. They were roasting eggplants for babaganoush, making mac and cheese, making homemade guac, tahini dressing, salsa, and so much more. I hope that I can move up in the ranks and get to work on all that food soon! Since I was there for 3 hours, I accumulated $21 in store credit šŸ˜€ Not too shabby!

I was freeeezing when I got back and after an hour or so I made dinner. And I had exactly what I was craving.

STP63587

Oatmeal šŸ™‚ Seriously, nothing warms me up and fills me up better. I ran out of milk yesterday so this was all water, and 50% makes such a big difference! It was still delicious though, of course.

I just ate a ton of grapes because I was still kinda hungry, and am definitely gonna hit the B&J later.

But now it’s time to study…

I really am going to okay!?

8 Responses to “A Day at the Co-op”

  1. Jeff Barr October 15, 2009 at 12:30 AM #

    Sounds like you had a lot of fun at the co-op, but don’t turn into a hippie. If you start to feel the desire wear a tie-dye shirt and to get dreadlocks, it may be too late!

  2. Brandi October 15, 2009 at 9:23 AM #

    your volunteering job sounds like so much fun! and that’s cool that you earn store credit.

  3. Karina Pinzon October 15, 2009 at 11:27 AM #

    Your volunteer job sounds great! Doesn’t hurt that you get store credit either šŸ˜‰

    Your oats look extra bready and delicious. Did you crumble a muffin over it or something? I’m seriously enthralled by it, haha.

    When I read your comment on my post, I was absolutely shocked. I used to do the EXACT same thing with the bananas. Not one thing was different.
    It had to be 50g and I would shave off pieces until it was. I no longer do that with bananas though.
    Only plantains… gotta work on that! :/

    Have a wonderful day, dear

    • Tina October 15, 2009 at 11:40 AM #

      Haha I’m glad you like my oats! Yes, I did crumble some banana oat muffin on it. My school dining hall has surprisingly tasty muffins and I get them for the sole purpose of putting them on my oatmeal.

      And with the plantains…one step at a time! šŸ™‚

  4. Lauren October 15, 2009 at 11:40 AM #

    I just came across your blog and really like it. I also noticed you had a Dr. P burger. Aren’t those outstanding? I think the California veggie is my favorite!

    • Tina October 15, 2009 at 3:23 PM #

      I love them! The chunks of vegetables are so great. I’m not sure what flavor I had because they were from my aunt, but I’ll check next time! I’m glad you found my blog šŸ˜€

  5. brianna October 15, 2009 at 4:30 PM #

    Oatmeal is the perfect meal anytime of the day! I just found your blog today and me loves! Now get on that studying missy!

  6. theyeard December 13, 2009 at 10:05 AM #

    People truly underestimate the value of a good bowl of oatmeal. Some really fantastic picture on here. Keep up the great work and I’ll keep reading!

Leave a Reply

