Taste of Bethesda ’09

7 Oct

I just got the pictures from Saturday so I’m going to share them with you!

I’m sure most people have heard of the Taste Of [insert city] before. I’d never been to one, so I was very excited to go with my aunt, uncle, and cousin this year. We have something similar in Seattle, called the Bite of Seattle, but I’ve never been. Next year for sure! I hope I’m in town…

Anyways, we headed to Bethesda on a beautiful, warm, sunny day to find TONS of people and food everywhere. The first thing we saw was these guys:

IMG_1021

We didn’t get any, but this is what it looked like when we walked by later…

IMG_1053

So much paella! Unfortunately I was too full to eat this later, but I know it would’ve been great. It looked totally moist and flavorful. My mom makes an amazing paella, with tons of fresh seafood from Pike Place Market in Seattle. Mmmm, now that I”m thinking about it I think I’ll have to have her make that for me when I come home 😀

My aunt got this truffle at one of the stands. I think it was chocolate & raspberry.

IMG_1026

I wanted real food before I had any dessert!

IMG_1027_2

So this restaurant, Bangkok Garden, had a stand at the festival. I didn’t know this, but apparently my mom, dad, and aunt used to go there every week for like 20 years or something! I was crrraving some pad thai and the one coming from this place looked incredible, so I patiently waited in line to get some.

IMG_1033

A few of their other dishes. The aroma coming from this was sooo good. I just love the smell of ginger and garlic.

My pad thai:

IMG_1035

The shrimp were perfectly cooked (surprising since it was being produced in large quantities. I was kind of expecting it to be overcooked, but it wasn’t). They cut the noodles into shorter strands, and it was perfect! It made eating and walking so much easier. Ah, I’m craving this again just looking at it!

My aunt got the chicken red curry and the chicken with basil as well. Very good too! But didn’t beat my pad thai 🙂

IMG_1038_2

Such good spices and flavors. I actually hadn’t eaten any meat or chicken in a MONTH before trying this. Definitely worth it.

A few of the other eats we saw:

IMG_1042

IMG_1044

IMG_1052

IMG_1047

A very fun day indeeeeed!

Saturday was also my Aunt Giselle’s birthday! The family was all invited to her house to celebrate with some Peruvian eats. We picked up the famous pollo a la brasa–the standard Peruvian rotisserie chicken. It’s just well known for it’s spices and moistness and of course, deliciousness. Our family’s been going to this place Crisp & Juicy for I don’t know, 20 years? More? It’s great.

The spread:

IMG_1061

I had more chicken that day in the whole last month!

IMG_1069

A yummy salad I made with spring mix, chickpeas, hearts of palm, grape tomatoes, goat cheese, and a vinaigrette with mustard, red wine vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper. My family gobbled it up! 😀

IMG_1073

Black beans. And you can’t eat pollo a la brasa without LOTS of fried yucca. And french fries. But I only go for the yuca. It’s the besttttt with the sauces:

IMG_1078

I’m not positive but I believe the red one is a rocoto sauce, and the yellow is aji amarillo. They’re both kind of like mayonaisses and are seriously addicting with the fries and chicken. So goood. Mom, please correct me if I’m wrong! Or explain more clearly.

IMG_1082

Ew flash! There’s my plate. I definitely had some more yucca and salad.

All in all, a good weekend with GREAT eats!

And just for kicks, here was my yummy breakfast this morning:

STP61499

The standard with some crumbled up blueberry muffin on top! ‘Scuse the dirty rims; there was a minor explosion in the microwave this morning 😀

Time for homework. Gooooodnight!

9 Responses to “Taste of Bethesda ’09”

  1. Brandi October 8, 2009 at 10:13 AM #

    what a fun event! all the food looks great. I wish we had something like that here!

  2. Allison (Eat Clean Live Green) October 8, 2009 at 11:16 AM #

    That paella looks amazing! Looks like such a fun event

  3. Karina Pinzon October 8, 2009 at 11:41 AM #

    Mmm… paella. Food from my country 🙂
    What a fun event, the little truffle broke my heart, haha. It is so cute!

  4. Jeff Barr October 8, 2009 at 2:47 PM #

    I need to upgrade to that family-sized paella pan!

    Great pictures and stories, and I have eaten at that Thai place many times. In fact, when Stephen was really young he had a chicken wing on the tray of his high chair. He somehow managed to toss it over his shoulder and we think it landed on someone else’s plate because we couldn’t find it!

  5. Mom October 8, 2009 at 4:02 PM #

    Okay, I am going to definitely buy a bigger Paella pan so that I can invite tons of friends. Tina when you come back home for a visit, I will make you your favorite seafood paella!
    About the story your father mentioned on his comment. Stephen was about 3 years old and he had a chicken leg and yes it landed on someone else’s table but we pretended that it did come from our table. I was so embarrassed!

  6. Ashley October 8, 2009 at 4:54 PM #

    Okay, I’m STARVING now!! Love your blog, Tina. So fun to keep up with all your culinary and academic adventures. It looks like you’re managing to eat healthy while in the dorms! Very impressive!

  7. Brittany October 8, 2009 at 6:11 PM #

    PAD THAI IS LIFE. ever since i moved in with my roommate we have it at LEAST once a week if not more. and maybe i completely missed this but are you talking about bethesda, maryland?!? my mom used to take me there when i lived in dc!!

    • Tina October 8, 2009 at 7:31 PM #

      Ah tell me about it, I need to have pad thai more!!

      And yup, maryland! I go to school at the University of Maryland which is in College Park. Maybe like 30 mins away from Bethesda?? That’s sooo sweet you lived in dc! It’s such an awesome city and I just wanna go there and explore so much more!

  8. julie October 8, 2009 at 9:10 PM #

    Wow that is a hugh jass pan of paeia (haha sp???)

    I ALWAYS have oatmeal microwave explosions! You have to time it perrrfectly tp avoid oat mush all over your nuker haha

Leave a Reply

