Gourmet

5 Oct

I don’t know how many of you read Gourmet but I’ve recently come to really like and enjoy that magazine. They have such great articles that talk about all aspects of the food industry. Sadly, they are folding. Their November issue will be their last! I’m sad about this because I reaaally wanted to intern there sometime! Hopefully I’ll be able to go to Bon Appetit or maybe another magazine will come out within the next 4 years.

Here’s the article.

I was hoping to be able to show all the pictures of my weekend but I don’t have them! My memory card is whack right now and only holds 8 pictures. I took all of the pictures with my aunt’s camera, so I’m going to have to wait for her to e-mail them to me πŸ˜€

On Saturday I actually went to the Taste of Bethesda! There were tons of great eats and I can’t wait to share the photos. It was also my aunt Giselle’s birthday, and we had a big family party and tons of food there too. They’ll be up eventually I promise!

I did get this awesome picture of a GIANT paella pan!! Mom and Dad, I think this should be the next one we get!

STP61447

What do you think!? Unfortunately, I was too full to try any, but it looked amazing.

I’m soo so tired today. Friday night went to bed at 3am, Saturday night at 2 am, and last night at around 1:30am. Not good! I’m totally feeling it today. I’m going to try and go to bed early tonight but we’ll see how likely that is considering I have a biggg math exam tomorrow.

Breakfast a a leeeetle different this morning:

STP61453

This Fuji beauty was so crisp and sweet. Just how I like ’em. But I’ve discovered it’s quite difficult to chop an apple on top of a mini fridge with a butter knife…just sayin. I need some real tools here!

STP61454

A nice big mound of peanut butter sprinkled with cinnamon, and a little bowlful of cottage cheese. Mmm cottage. This was surprising quite filling.

La de da, went to 3 classes, came back, wasn’t surprised that my roommates were still asleep. I’ve realized that sometimes it can be difficult living with other people. A few annoyed words were exchanged this afternoon. Oh well, life goes on. You can’t expect it not to happen with 3 girls stuffed in this room!

I was thinking about my lunch basically all morning. I love creating meals during class. I mean…during the breaks of my classes πŸ™‚ A sandwich was definitely on the menu. I went to the dining hall, got a few necessities, and here’s what I concocted:

STP61456

So good! I got a loaf of Rudi’s bread over the weekend and was very excited to try it. I lightly toasted it, then spread a Laughing Cow wedge on both sides. I also added a little hummus. I then put someΒ  Lightlife organic flax tempeh, cucumber, shredded carrot, jalapeno, cucumber, and spinach inside. And definitely dipped it in some hot sauce on the side! I’ve been craving tempeh for the longest time and this was really great.

STP61459

For some reason, I always have to cut a sandwich diagonally. Straight down the middle makes it look so much smaller to me! A few pieces of broc and cauliflower were necessary on the side.

Oh man, I’ve been really hungry today. I just got back from a math review class and I had a headache from it. It just came so suddenly. So I came back to my room and just had some of this greatness:

STP61465

I’m going to dinner in a bit, or I might eat something here. I have a loooot of work to do. Perhaps I’ll post that later πŸ˜›

Anyone have tips for me on how to stay focused?? Lately I just can’t seem to concentrate on doing my work! Maybe getting away from the computer would help…

2 Responses to “Gourmet”

  1. SJB October 6, 2009 at 9:43 AM #

    Nice sandwich.

    I know how you feel about the roommates. It is a real adjustment, knowing that there are times when the music has to be down, people like to do things in different ways, etc. I’m sure you’ll be fine. Probably everyone in your situation is going through the stage of the novelty of having roommates is wearing off and the reality that you live with these people is setting in!

    Good luck!

  2. SJB October 6, 2009 at 9:43 AM #

    PS – that last sentence was a grammatical atrocity. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

