Brain=Mush

26 Sep

I just finished writing a 5 page paper. Whew! It totally needs to be edited and everything but at least it’s all out there. I think beginning a paper and just that initial first draft can be so hard. Once that’s over, I love to edit and make changes. As a journalism major, I think I want to be an editor. I really do love writing, but I enjoy editing a lot too.

I forgot to write this down, but last week Giselle and I talked about what I really want to do when I’m “older”. One of my dream jobs is to be an editor at Gourmet or Bon Apetit magazine, and travel, eat food, and write about it. Or I would really, really love to have a restaurant, possibly with my sisters (and mom, brothers, dad?!!?) 😀

Here’s what we came up with:

-Get my Bachelor’s in Journalism

-Get a Master’s in Business

-Possibly go to culinary school, and definitely get some experience in the food world

-Open restaurant 😀

Muahaha. I would loooovee to do all of this! And I know I can.

Anyways, I’m so glad that last week is OVER! It was stressful for sure. And now this stupid paper is (mostly) out of the way. Now I just need to worry about my Art History midterm on Tuesday :/ One thing at a time.

I only had math yesterday, so I was done at 9 am! Sooo awesome. Giselle picked me up, and we went back to her house.

Oops, here’s breakfast first:

STP61377

Love the bad lighting and off-centered photo.

The usual oats, almond milk, water, 1/2 banana, crumbled muffin, granola, cinnamon, and a couple spoonfuls of peanut butter. In my very favorite balloon bowl.

After getting to Giselle’s, I planned on working on my paper all day. Giselle was suuuper busy with work so I helped to watch Max. We had so much fun! I didn’t get a TON done yesterday, but it was well worth it. We laughed and played. That boy’s a handful, but he’s so cute 🙂 I’m gonna be his favorite cousin now! What now Andy, Stephen, Bianca, Grace?!

We were both busy so we decided to order some lunch. I absolutely LOVE Greek food, and we picked this place called Ambrosia. I ordered the falafel appetizer and a Greek salad. Giselle got a trio of meat and potatoes. Unfortunately, our food wasn’t the best 😦 The falafel was pretty greasy, and the salad wasn’t the freshest. It wasn’t horrible but I’ve gotten $5 falafel sandwiches that were the most amazing things ever back at home.

STP61380

It also came with pita bread, and I had some hummus too. Sorry for the slightly blurry pic, my camera was almost dead.

STP61381

I can’t wait for the day I go to Santorini and get to feast on Greek yogurt, feta cheese, baklava, fresh fruit, vegetables, and tons of FISH!! Not to mention those hottie Greek men and the beautiful clear water. And those adorable white houses!! Ahhhh

Giselle and I both worked until like 6, when we left to pick up Shawn. We were also going to Mom’s Organic Market! I loved this place! They had sooo much great stuff. I think everything there is organic, and great prices too. Maybe a bit less than Whole Foods, but nothing will ever beat Whole Foods in my eyes.

Here’s the loot:

IMG_0958

Here we have:

-Original Almond Breeze (soo much better than the Unsweetened Vanilla)

Fantastic Foods Vegetarian Chili and Falafel mix (excited for these!!)

-Kidney Beans

-Diced Fire Roasted Tomatoes

-Fuji apples

-Sweet potatoes

-Short-grain brown rice

-Flax tempeh

-2% Fage!!!! I’ve missed you so much.

-Peanut butter filled pretzels! woooot 😀

I need/want to go to Whole Foods today and get a few more provisions.

We had such a delicious dinner last night. Giselle and Shawn picked up some tofu and a bunch of fresh organic vegetables and we made a big stir fry! It was like 9pm when we ate and I was starved, so this tasted so so so good.

The chopped vegetables looked so beautiful and colorful.

STP61384

My camera died after that picture, so I used Giselle’s for the rest in this post. Her camera takes amazing pictures! It’s a Canon PowerShot SD900. I’m really considering getting a nice camera. I got mine after 9th grade and it’s getting near the end of it’s life!

We added cubed tofu, shallots, and LOTS of ginger. Oh, and soy sauce. Seriously, ginger makes a dish. It’s sooo yummy and spicy and sweet.

IMG_0944

My bowl:

IMG_0952

This was on top of brown rice, and I also added some corn. And then a TON of aji amarillo, the standard Peruvian hot sauce 😛 And no stir fry is complete without chopsticks!!

We watched Top Chef while eating. I miss that show! Too bad we don’t have a DVR in my dorm…

I stayed up pretty late and was EXHAUSTED. I could barely hold my eyes open. The plan was to work on my paper after dinner but that didn’t happen. Good thing it was done this morning!

Oh yes, here were my oats from this morning. Mmm, stovetop beats the microwave by farrrrr:

IMG_0954

The beautiful whipped banana oats. Topped with some agave, cinnamon, granola, and a couple dots of apple butter. Giselle didn’t have peanut butter. Blasphemous. It was still amazing and creamy and delicious. I actually used all water for this, but with a little splash of whole milk!

Ok, my tummy’s growling and I think we are going shopping. Byeee everybody!

Oh yeah, check out my new about me page!!! I’m so proud of it 😀

3 Responses to “Brain=Mush”

  1. Peanut Butter Bliss September 26, 2009 at 8:55 PM #

    oh goodnes you sure did get a great loot of goodies 🙂

    totally loving the pb filled pretzels and falafel! I use that mix all the time.

    • Tina September 26, 2009 at 9:39 PM #

      Really?? I’m assuming it’s good then? I can’t wait to try it!

  2. Grandpop Steve September 27, 2009 at 1:15 AM #

    Hi Tina

    I usually read your blog late in the eve but the dishes you show great pictures of make me hungry so I’m going to have to change my schedule or stay up all night eating. Your blog is great.

    Love

    Gp Steve

Leave a Reply

