Friday at last!

25 Sep

This week has been so loooong! It’s been crazy busy, and next week won’t be much better. I had my first art history quiz on Monday, a big soc test yesterday which I spent all week getting ready for, a math test on Wednesday, etc. It doesn’t help that I have a 5 page history paper due on Sunday!! And…I haven’t started. Oops. I honestly have been so busy with other stuff though. I basically plan on only doing that tonight and tomorrow. Goodbye social weekend life!

Giselle is picking me up soon and we are going shopping! I can’t wait. I’m in serious need of some food. I’m so sick of everything here! That’s one huge thing I miss from home-the variety and deliciousness of food. Any suggestions for new easy (cheap) stuff I should try for this week? We’re also going clothes shopping! Not that I really have the funds for it, but I think I can afford a couple things πŸ™‚ J. Crew and Anthropologie are calling my name.

When I first started this blog, I didn’t anticipate or plan on it becoming a food blog, but it kind of is! Not that I mind, because I’ve been reading food blogs for the past year and a half ish. My friends love when I take pictures of food. They find it awesome. But I reeeally want a nice camera. 18th birthday present perhaps?! (cough *mom and dad* cough) πŸ˜‰ My friend said he’d find me some good ones for a reasonable price.

Okay, onto the eeeats for yesterday!

Breakfast was NEW!

STP61364

Aerial shot.

I got a raisin bran muffin last week from the dining hall and stuck it in my fridge. It was actually really really good! Probably had a good amount of oil and sugar in it, but I loved it and will definitely pick up some more. I actually have another in my freezer. On the side I had my usual sliced banana, and a little knob of peanut butter because, you know, it’s not breakfast without at least a taste of it.

Sorry about all the shadows but I’m a nice roommate and don’t turn on the lights when my roommates are still sleeping πŸ™‚

I went to math and then art history after this deliciousness was consumed. I loved art history yesterday for some reason. We are getting into some really beautiful paintings. Here’s one I really liked:

giorgione_or_titian

This is “Pastoral Symphony” by Giorgione (and possibly Titian, it’s debatable.) Loves it!

I was pretty staaarvin when I got back and decided I needed a good snack before my sociology exam.

STP61366

This is why I need a new camera. Dang blurry pictures!!

I got some cottage cheese from the dining hall and topped it with a single grape and some go lean crrrrunch. Good as always. Except this cottage cheese does not even begin to compare with the Friendship cottage cheese I got at Whole Foods a few weeks ago. Must pick that up today.

The test went pretty well I think. There were about 10 multiple choice (wasn’t sure about 2 of them), 2 short answer (one of which I knew only part of ), and a full essay. I wrote like 5 or 6 pages for that essay! My hand was cramping up so badly. My test was about the Inuit, and just the basics of society I guess. A lot about subsistence technology. I’ve always wanted to take a sociology course, but I’m really more interested in people, and why we do the things we do. I hope we don’t just learn about different types of societies like hunter/gatherer, agrarian, horticultural, etc.

After the test, I skipped (not really) on over back to the dorm where I ran into a certain someone (hehehe). I was sooo hungry though so I left pretty quickly to the dining hall. I wanted another one of those deeelish salads!

The beauty:

STP61368

Mmmmm. This one had a base of mixed spring greens, with baby corn (fave), broccoli (lady skimped and gave me like 2 pieces…), cucumber, carrots, strawberries (!!!), and feta. I love feta. The people making the salads always seem so appalled when I don’t get meat or dressing. Um, sorry??! I just use a ton of hot sauce as “dressing”. And I added some tofu and beans when I got back to my room. I think I had some sesame crackers on the side too, and maybe some grapies.

After lunch, I had my most boring class of the week-history discussion. Seriously. So dull. I came back and studied art history for a looong time after that. Sometimes I like to study and do homework in the basement lounge which probably isn’t such a good idea. Subconsciously, I think I want to get distracted and just talk to people. These guys asked me to play baseball with them but I couldn’t :(. I have an art history exam next week and I have a TON to memorize.

There’s a restaurant on campus called Adele’s, and it’s the only restaurant where students can use their dining hall points. People like going there because we feel like we’re not spending money. Plus, I barely ate at the dining hall this week just because I was so busy or too tired to walk over there. Sooo I had a lot to spend. I also treated my friend to dinner since he said he never has enough money and I definitely have a surplus!

Since I knew I had some extra “dough” I got…..double crab-stuffed lobster tails with sauteed vegetables.

STP61372_2

Yeah….I wish I could say this was delicious and amazing and life-changing, but it wasn’t. First of all, the service was horrible. Our meals took SO long to come out. Maybe because we arrived at the same time as a group of THIRTY. Yeah, good timing. But unfortunately, “crab-stuffed” obviously means something different to these people. It was just “crab-topped”. That little brown area you see on top is the crab. And it was totally mixed with mayo and covered in breadcrumbs. Not gonna lie, that part was good, although rich, and there wasn’t enough of it. It doesn’t even COMPARE to the crabcakes I had in Seattle at The Dahlia Lounge. Tom Douglas knows how to handle that! I mean, he has like 5 restaurants, and is famous for his crabcakes. Come on.

Anyway, he lobster was sort of tough, and the vegetables were all greasy. And had ZERO seasoning. And I hate green beans of all types!! Luckily, there were like 3 broccoli florets and a couple carrots. Oh, and everything wasn’t STEAMING hot like I like it. Really…I like when food is burning hot. My friend also got this and thought it was kinda bad. And…after looking at the bill it cost like $45. Haha. Good thing it wasn’t cash!!

Here was the “famous” dessert:

STP61374

This costs around $20. It’s warm brownie with UMD ice cream and whipped cream. I mean, it was good (had a few bites), but there was SO much whipped cream! All in all, this restaurant was not worth it, and I probably won’t go back anytime soon. I didn’t even eat much and was hungry an hour or two later. I left almost a whole lobster tail, and didn’t even want it boxed up.

Ok, I have a lot to do. I’m dreading writing this paper but I just need to pound it out. It’s an ugly, rainy day here unfortunately.

Until next time!

7 Responses to “Friday at last!”

  1. Mom September 25, 2009 at 11:02 AM #

    Hmmm so you paid $20 for a Sundae type of dessert?? Wow, I don’t think I have ever paid that much not even at The Dhalia Lounge or Lolas.

    Loved your post as always! I’m glad you are eating well. I think the stir fry sounds like a great idea. Oh, we had a great dinner the other night (made me think of you). Stir fry veggies, broccoli, zuchini, onions, garlic, tri color peppers and parsley topped with broiled salmon and wrapped in a Ezequiel tortilla. Bianca made this yogurt-cucumber sauce to put on top of it. It was delicious!! Of course, lots of Franks on the side, A La Tina!

    You might want to make some black beans or lentils when you are at aunt Vicky’s house and bring it to school unless you don’t want to eat beans to be nice to your roommies πŸ™‚

    Love ya baby!

  2. Tina September 25, 2009 at 11:23 AM #

    Haha mommy you are so funny!
    I didn’t pay for the dessert though. Someone else did! I’m definitely going to do the stir fry when I have time. Maybe make a big batch and eat it for a few days. I could probably make a few friends with good food too πŸ˜‰

    That dinner sounds sooo yummy! Like reallly really good. I can’t wait for my Frank’s to get here. I already finished my bottle of hot sauce I bought last weekend.

    If I can I’ll make some brown rice. I’ve been craving our delicious garlicky, short-grain brown rice!! I have a paper to write today and am helping Giselle by watching Max while she works so we’ll seeee!

    LOVE YOU!

  3. Stephen September 25, 2009 at 2:46 PM #

    A few things, Teenie:

    >I left almost a whole lobster tail, and didn’t even want it boxed up.
    That is wrong!

    >This is why I need a new camera. Dang blurry pictures!!
    Your camera has a macro mode that is able to take close up pictures without getting blurry. If you just take pictures in auto-mode, it will look blurry and camera quality will not fix that. That is not to say that you do or do not need a new camera, but it is possible to take non-blurry pictures of food using your camera.

    Read: http://www.ephotozine.com/article/Using-your-digital-cameras-macro-mode-4848

    Also, to shoot pictures of things very close to the lense, you want to use a tripod and the timer function. That way, your shaking hands don’t screw up the shot, and you can use longer exposures. One of these:

    http://www.amazon.com/Joby-GP1-E1EN-Gorillapod-Flexible-Tripod/dp/B000EVSLRO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1253905872&sr=8-1

    would work quite well. The only way you can truly have point-and-shoot macro at decent quality is to use an SLR with a VR (Vibration Reduction) lens.

    http://www.nikonusa.com/Find-Your-Nikon/ProductDetail.page?pid=2159

    You can’t afford this. I bet you can get a lot of mileage out of your camera by adjusting some of the settings and using a tripod.

    —-

    And, I am so jealous of the food at UMD. Rochester food isn’t nearly as good. And, it is expensive. At UW, there was a lot of competition from nearby restaurants. At UR, you are eating on campus or bringing lunch. And, the on campus food is quite expensive for what you get.

    Love you Teenie!

  4. Stephen September 25, 2009 at 2:49 PM #

    Also, there is a setting you can adjust called the F-stop, which allows you to essentially play with the bluriness of the background. It is nice for allowing a photo to highlight a foreground object and totally neglect the background. You should try playing with that setting and seeing how different shots come out. You might be impressed.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/F-number#Effects_on_image_quality

  5. Stephen September 25, 2009 at 2:50 PM #

    You might be able to play with this under a setting called “aperture priority”.

  6. Giselle September 27, 2009 at 1:01 AM #

    Hey Steve – you should write your own photo blog! πŸ˜‰

  7. Jeff Barr September 27, 2009 at 1:52 AM #

    Lobster tail sounds like it was overcooked! Great post though!

    Your gallon bottle of Frank’s should be there soon. I hope that you can blog about it.

Leave a Reply

