Monday Monday Monday

22 Sep

Hello beautiful people!

I have some studying to do, so let’s get to it! I’ve been to math and Art history this morning, and have Sociology in an hour and a half. I have a math test tomorrow, a soc test on Thursday, an art history test next wednesday, and a paper due on Sunday. Ahhh! I hate when there are just mellow weeks followed by everything getting slammed at once. But as of tomorrow, I’ll have been gone a month! That is so crazy. I miss all of you soo sooo much at home! You need to send me pics. Don’t get all old on me while I’m gone πŸ™‚

Yesterday, I had some lovely delicious leftover chili for lunch. I mixed in some carrot shreds, broccoli, chickpeas, and hummus just for fun. And had some kashi’s on the side!

STP61326

Thanks Giselle for turning me onto this stuff πŸ™‚

While eating lunch, I tried to catch up on all my news. Every Monday in journalism we have a news quiz of the past week. I kind of slacked on reading the news all week, so I had to do some review! Each quiz is 10 questions, but these quizzes are 60% of our grade! I honestly guessed on 3 or 4 of the questions but….I GOT THEM ALL RIGHT!! Woooo, I’m a star. The Dean of our college, Kevin Klose, also talked to us in that class. He was kind of boring…but he has done some cool things. I think he was a reporter for the Washington Post for a long time. I’m really trying to get involved with a school publication. I e-mailed the editors of Unwind Magazine here at school. They do more things like fashion, music, movies, etc. I said I would love to write about health or food or nutrition. Hopefully I’ll hear back! Even now I would just love to get experience as an editor or fact checker. I also would love to try working at The Diamondback, which is our school’s newspaper. They’re huge! It’s a daily newspaper, it’s online, and basically everyone reads it.

Oh let’s see…I took some pics of the inside of my fridge so you guys could see what I have!

STP61329

In the top shelf we have, Cholula (the only hot sauce I could find, and seriously the bottle is half empty. I bought it on Saturday. Dad, where’s my jug of Frank’s?!?!), leftover roasted butternut squash, bagels, almond milk, salmon, and muffins. You can’t see any of it but you bet it’s there.

In the middle there are two containers: one of watermelon, pineapple, cantelope, and grapes. Pretty standard cafeteria fruit. In the other is cucumber, carrot, some tofu, and beans I think. These are left from my splurging last week while trying to use my points. I failed.

In the produce drawer I have a sweet potato, a lemon, half a lime, half an Ezekiel, hummus, and the end of a loaf of bread. Haha, I probably have one of the most stocked fridges of any freshmen, I swear.

STP61331

On the top there are the cream cheeses-salmon and blueberry, some Rice Dream, a few varieties of Silk soy milk, granola, Laughing Cow, and my two peanut butters!

STP61334

Haha, wow so many bags of cookies and muffins. My New York Suppaaa Fudge Chunk (GRACE!! HURRY UP!), 2 oatmeal raisin cookies, some pb&j bars, a frozen raisin bran muffin, and Superfood. I don’t have a blender though, and I kind of need it for that.

After journalism, I came back to my room and studied for a looong time. I had sociology reading to do. Actually I did it in the basement because it’s kind of easier to concentrate. Except there were people having a looong freaking conversation so I had to put in the headphones and listen to some Iron and Wine.

I went to the Commons shop after that basically because I’d been sitting for 1.5 hours and my butt felt extremely flat and was starting to cramp! I bought some Kashi GoLean Crunch (reunited at last!), some rice sesame crackers, and a bar.

Some time passed, and I went upstairs, took a shower, and made some dinner. I couldn’t decide what I was craving. Don’t you hate that?? I kept opening and closing the fridge just trying to decide. I was really wanting some yogurt but alas, I did not have any. This is what I decided on:

STP61335

Salmon, butternut squash, remaining veggies, hummus, and rice crackers. For some reason, this dinner gave me a stomachache.

Studying for art history was next. Boring! I love the pictures, but not the note taking. I’m not looking to the test. Lots and lots of notecards are in my future.

House premiere was on at 8!!! It was a 2 hour premiere which unfortunately was not good for my studying…but I had to watch! It was sooo good. I love that show, just because everything is like a puzzle. I decided on some dessert which was:

STP61338

Silk chocolate soy milk and a little chunk of cookie.

I went to bed kind of late. Ugh, it’s so annoying though…my roommate works at the Police Auxiliary and once a week she has to work 9pm-3 am. When she comes in she totally turns on the lights, plops all her stuff around, goes in and out to the bathroom, and everything. I was so annoyed last night! It was like 3:45 and I was trying not to say anything. Oh, the joys of living with other people.

My deeelish breakfast this morning was an Einstein Brothers Good Grains bagel, one half with salmon cream cheese and the other half with blueberry:

STP61340

Yum!

Right now, I’m chillin in the basement lounge. I’m munching on this GnuFoods Cinnamon Raisin bar. It’s okay. But it cost me $2 so I’m eating it! Here’s the bar and also some pics of the basement! You know I just want you all to visualize everything that I see and do πŸ™‚

STP61341

STP61343

STP61344

So beautiful and scenic I know. It works though! It’s fun hanging down here because everyone walks through. Not always conducive to studying, but college is also for socializing right? πŸ˜‰

Alright, class in an hour! See you all laterzzz!

My blog is getting more views per day! So exciting! I’m wondering if it’s just all my family reading or maybe some others?!

6 Responses to “Monday Monday Monday”

  1. VeggieGirl September 22, 2009 at 11:44 AM #

    Thank you for your comment on my blog! Welcome to the blogworld πŸ˜€

  2. Heather Eats Almond Butter September 22, 2009 at 12:41 PM #

    Thanks for sending me the link to your blog. Best of luck in school. I loved art history – one of my favorite classes.

    I hope you get one of the journalism jobs – that would be a great experience, and I would really like to raid your fridge. Impressive stash for a college dorm room! πŸ˜‰

  3. Jeff Barr September 22, 2009 at 2:38 PM #

    I’ll send you some Frank’s ASAP — I just need your address. Email it to me, don’t post it!

  4. Your mommy September 22, 2009 at 5:31 PM #

    I LOVE your blog! It gives a little window of college life. Fun, fun, fun! I hope you get a job with the school newspaper or magazine. If they reject you once, you keep on trying and trying until you get it. But they won’t because you are awesome!

  5. Aunt Beth September 23, 2009 at 12:35 PM #

    Hi Tina-Love reading your blog-look forward to it every day! It sounds like you are adjusting well and having fun at school. Love the pictures of the food-especially the peanut butter! You know us Barrs-PB is a staple in our diet. Let’s figure out a time when we can do dinner. Can’t wait to see you again! Love, Beth

  6. Tina September 23, 2009 at 7:35 PM #

    Thank you to the new readers πŸ™‚

    And Aunt Beth, I’m so glad you’re reading! That makes me so happy. We definitely should get together soon. We’ll figure out a time and place!

Leave a Reply

