Swine Flu

10 Sep

No, I do not have swine flu or anything close to it (knock on wood). But there has been an outbreak of it here unfortunately! Just yesterday my roommate, Yesenia, texts me and tells me to go outside our dorm and turn on the news. I was pretty confused but I went outside, and literally right in the intersection outside my dorm, there’s a news van and a big pole and cameras and a news guy. I didn’t know what it was about but I watched for a little while. And I was on the phone with mom and of course she tells me to go get interviewed. There wasn’t too much action so I went back inside and turned on Fox 5 news. Welp, they were talking about the swine flu here. They said that something like 5 students went into the health center on Friday, then 18 on Saturday, and it was up to like 35 on Monday.

That doesn’t sound too bad right? Well, in today’s issue of The Diamondback-our school newspaper-the headline reads “Suspected swine flu case count reaches 256” AH!! That’s a lotttt of people. There’s this guy in my math class that sits right next to me, and he’s been coughing up something crazy this week. Mental note to stay away…even though he is the only cute one in the class. Oh well. Yeah, so basically the school is telling anyone that’s sick to isolate  themselves in their room. They’re recommending to get friends bring your food to you and to even wear a mask. Pretty crazy. I also heard today the swine has reached UW?! Uh oh Seattle!

Other than that, things have been good. I feel like there’s so much that happens every day I can’t even remember!

Oh yes, I just plugged in my memory card and I see. I was getting pretty tired of the same ol’ salad bar for lunch everyday sooo I ventured out! We have a building called the Stamp Student Union, and it’s just one of the main buildings for students to go to. There are a bunch of the chain restaurants (McDonalds, Chik-Fil-A, Panda Express, etc.), the bookstore, the co-op, union shop, and I discovered there was a whole bowling alley and game room yesterday! Haha my school is cool. I actually only found that because I was on the search for Subway! I figured that would be a safe choice if I was going to get something else. It also smelled quite delicious and it’s not toooo expensive. I got the 9-grain whole wheat bread whatever, with turkey, and all the vegetables. When the lady asked which I wanted I just said, “All of them”, and I think she was confused. So then I had to name every single vegetable in there…yeah. I think it was lettuce, tomato, jalapenos, banana peppers, onion, cucumber, and I think that’s it.

Here’s da pic–

STP61128

Sorry for the ominous shadow on the left over there. Oh yes, I had some Kashi crackers and hummus. That hummus is soo good. My roomies were asking me about hummus the other day. They have no idea what it tastes like. What has this world come to? They also find my peanut butter habit quite amusing. I have one big 32 oz jar of THE BEST PEANUT BUTTER EVER AKA 365 WHOLE FOODS CRUNCHY!!! I also bought another jar over the weekend-PB&CO Cinnamon Raisin Swirl.

I want to take a pic with both of these beauties so here we go:

Photo 117

Hahahaha my roomies totally walked in when I was doing that little photoshoot. Embarassing! Not. They cool.

Oh, I had a gooood lunch today. Aunt Vicky made this amazing salmon on Sunday that I already wrote about, and she gave me a big chunk to take. So nice of her! I sat through Sociology STARVING because it’s at such an awkward time. 12:30. I hate that! It’s too early to eat before, but it’s done at like 1:40. Oh well. I’ll deal. So I sat through this movie on Eskimoes (actually pretty interesting, even though the guy next to me kept hitting my foot. Whether on purpose or not, I will never know) and dreamed about lunch. Here is what I concocted:

STP61132

Leftover salmon, microwaved sweet potato, blob o’ hummus, and half an Ezekiel with mo’ hummus.

OH BABY! So there was this beautiful man at the dorm party last week and I was like “Why have I not seen him again considering he lives in my dorm?!” Lo and behold, I’m walking to the kitchen holding my potato, salmon, keys, plate, and everything and there he is on the couch! Too bad he didn’t see me. And then he left while I was in the kitchen. Oh, tall, handsome men with dreads are great. Yes, dreads.

Yeah, so I ate that lunch and watched a little O.C. on Hulu. Hulu is the best!! After lunch, I went to my History discussion. Um…the TA for that class is so dull!! I felt bad for him actually. He seemed nervous and a little unprepared. There were a lot of journalism majors in that class too.

After that class, I came back to my room for all of five minutes before I had to head out again. There is this program that I’m doing called ESOL. I’m not actually sure what that stands for. The gist of the program is that fluent speakers of English meet weekly, either in partners or in a group, with someone who is working on their English. And basically we just talk to them! Kevin, the director of Global Communities, said that anyone who’s done it has found it very rewarding. I’m just trying to get very involved at school so that I can meet people with similar interests and broaden my horizons. And now I’m back here, writing this post and about to eat some dinner.

Oh yeah, I went to Institute last night! I was kind of nervous to walk there cuz I knew it was on the outskirts of campus but it was actually easy and not that far. There was dinner at 6:30, then the lesson started at 7:30. We had some yummy…white spaghetti with canned red sauce and frozen meatballs. Also, white french bread with melted Mexican cheese on top. You all would be proud that I wanted to be nice and served myself a little and actually ate it. But it actually gave me some indigestion…and you all think I’m lying when I say I don’t like that stuff. Hmph. But I met a lot of cool and very nice people. Unfortunately, most were older although there was a girl that’s a sophomore and she was quite happy that I took the title of being the youngest. And even more unfortunately…NO cute guys. Oh well, the lesson was great and we are studying the Book of Mormon this year. Should be good!

Alright, I should get going. I have a lot to study. Math test tomorrow :/

Tonight I’m going to a vegetarian cooking class at the co-op which should be fun! Yay!

See ya all laterzzzz

😛

5 Responses to “Swine Flu”

  1. Jeff Barr September 11, 2009 at 8:34 AM #

    Hi Tina, sounds like you are really having a good time there. Apparently basic sanitation procedures will greatly reduce your chance of catching the dreaded swine flu.

    That picture of you with the peanut butter is a classic!

    Love,

    Dad;

  2. healthyterp September 11, 2009 at 9:04 AM #

    Hey Dad! I’ve definitely been washing my hands well, and i need to find some hand sanitizer!
    Glad you enjoyed the pic 🙂

  3. Aunt Beth September 11, 2009 at 11:00 AM #

    Hi Tina-Sounds like you are having a great time at school. Love the PB picture! Lets keep in touch-will try to call you soon! Love-Aunt Beth

    • healthyterp September 11, 2009 at 2:21 PM #

      Hi Aunt Beth! I’m so glad to see you are reading the blog. We should definitely get together soon. I hope you and Tito are doing well and can’t wait to see you both again!

      and mom…I can’t believe I did either! blehhh!

  4. Mom September 11, 2009 at 1:01 PM #

    Hello Tina,

    i love that picture of you with the peanut butter jars! I’m glad you are doing well. Love reading your blog.

    I could not believe you had a couple of bites of white spaghetti, canned tomato sauce and frozen meatballs! I’m glad you were polite and share a meal with your institute friends.

    Love ya!

    Mom

Leave a Reply

