My First Few Days at UMD

31 Aug

Hello everybody!

So, a lot of people wanted a way for me to stay in touch (other than Facebook) and encouraged me to start a blog. I have been reading blogs for about the past year, and I’ve really enjoyed finding other people that share the same interests as me and are able to express it in a fun and creative way. As a Journalism major, I also thought that a blog could help me to improve on my writing and reporting skills. All of my friends and family know that I am very interested in nutrition and wholesome, natural eating hence the name of my blog–Healthyterp. I hope to be able to maintain a healthy diet while living on campus so don’t be surprised to see many pictures of food on here! I love eating and I love cooking, and I think I can accurately call myself a foodie 🙂 With my blog, I want my family and friends to stay in touch and see what I’m up to, and I also hope to meet other people as well.

I don’t really have the time or energy to describe the entire process of moving into the dorms, but let’s just say I had a lot of stuff, my roommates seem cool (yes, 2 roommates, I’m in a triple!!), and I was sad when mom and Stephen left!

Here it is–

STP61094

Today was my first day of classes. Yesterday my mom and I walked around and found a lot of the buildings my classes were in so I felt better about not getting lost today. First up was math–8 am everyday. The class was pretty small, maybe 20 people, and the professor seemed like he was really eager to help and so it was good. It’s a shame we started class by reviewing fractions…no words for that. Class was done by 8:50, and my next class was at 10am. So I came back to the dorm, got a few things, chilled a little, and then headed back out to the Francis Scott Key Building. Luckily, this is along the main strip in campus so it was easy to find. This was my first History lecture. I’m taking Hist157, which is American history after the Cold War I believe. The prof was awesome, he had a great sense of humor and you could tell he really liked teaching. I’m eager to see what we learn in there. Next was the tricky part…history ends at 10:50, and I have to make it to Art History by 11. The buildings are probably a 5-7 min walk apart but that’s assuming you know where you are going!! Yeah, not so much. Well, I knew where I was going but I ended up exiting the Key building a different way than I’d come in so I got totally disorientated. After a little nervousness, I found my way to the Art-Sociology Building. I actually really liked the class! Monday is going to be my discussion day so I only got to meet the TA, but she was really young, and we spent the class dissecting a photo of Kelly Ripa holding a plate of cupcakes in a kitchen. Too bad the entire semester we won’t be doing that…

Ok that paragraph got too bulky. So after art history, I decided to wander around a bit. I was dying to find the co-op in the Stamp building so i went over there. I’m not sure why but it took me FOREVER to find it! I knew it was in the basement, but I could not find a way to actually get to the basement. I swear I went in and out of the building like 3 times before I went down some weird place and this guy helped me find it. I’m so glad I made it there! It is totally my type of place. They have bulk bins of granola, short grain brown rice (fave), quinoa, oats, and a bunch of dry beans. They also have rice, almond, and soy milk, along with other juices. They have this great place to make custom sandwiches. I think you pick the bread you want (or bagel or whatever) and then each additional veggie or spread or whatever is a certain amount. I’ll definitely be trying that! Not to mention the cute guys that were making the sandwiches 🙂 haha. Um, there was also fresh produce, and things of sushi and premade sandwiches. On my way out I saw a Cooking Class e-mail sign-up so I put my info down there! Who knows what it’s all about but hopefully something cool!

I was kinda pooped after all that wandering and didn’t think I’d make it to the dining hall, so I figured I’d go back to my dorm and eat my leftover ocopa from Uncle Victor’s birthday the other night. So I did that and watched an episode of House. Twas delicious. I also had a very crunchy, juicy, and delicious fuji apple that my mommy so kindly bought me from Whole Foods. I wish I would’ve remembered a pic!!

Journalism was my next class. It was at 2 and man, it was a good thing I left at 1:30! I didn’t know exactly where the building was but thought I knew the basic area. Uhhh…not really! I ended up getting confused and luckily had my roomies numbers! So I called them up and they helped direct me to the right building. Except I still ended up in the wrong one, and the lady in there pointed me to the right one. It was a lecture class but not too big. Apparently the college of Journalism is one of the smallest here at UMD. The prof-Penny Fuchs-kind of intimidated me at first but then the other woman, one of the deans, started talking and she scared me way more!! She was intense, that’s all I can say. So basically for that class I am required to read The Washington Post everyday, and we are even required to do 3 blog entries for her! I know I’ll learn a lot in there but it was honestly a bit overwhelming today.

Now I have my first blister from walking so much today and I’m chillin in my room, listening to Coldplay. I really want to find the rec center so I can hit the gym! I might go out in front of the library to the big grass area where everyone hangs out.

Oh and just so my mom knows I’m eating well, here’s a pic of breakfast 😀

Breakfast day 1

I have plans tonight to go to a dining hall with a new friend, probably some hw, and a floor meeting at 9:30. Bye! Miss you all sooo much!

5 Responses to “My First Few Days at UMD”

  1. Jeff Barr September 1, 2009 at 12:53 AM #

    Hi Tina, this is a great first post and I wanted to be the first to comment on it!

    Sounds like you are having a great time there. Within a week I am sure that you’ll know the campus like the back of your hand.

    I will look forward to reading more every day!

    Love,

    Dad;

  2. Giselle September 1, 2009 at 1:44 PM #

    Didn’t I say you’d LOVE the Co-op!! For the food selection, of course! 😉

    • healthyterp September 1, 2009 at 2:48 PM #

      haha Giselle, it’s just like my Whole Foods at home! Good food and cute boys! If I have the time, I want to work there later on!

  3. Lisa October 12, 2009 at 11:31 PM #

    Tina, Not being a computer person this is the first blog I’ve ever seen and it is very creative and fun! Your writing is great and the pictures of food makes me hungry. I can tell you are doing really well on the other coast. It’s not the same here without you and Matt. L

    • Tina October 13, 2009 at 10:02 AM #

      Aw, thanks Lisa! I’m so glad you like it. I can’t wait to be back in Redmond to see all my neighbors, and to hear how Matt likes school!

Leave a Reply

