New Beginnings

27 Jan

So I’ve pretty much been the worst at blogging. My bad. For the last week I was home, I really just focused on spending time with family and friends, packing, and just having fun. Not too many pictures of food were taken, but I’ve been having fun photographing everything else. It’s too bad, we had a big Peruvian party the night before I left…but I didn’t take a single shot. Ah! There will be another one in the future I’m sure. Here are some pictures I took before I left.

Seattle sunset.

I think this was the first time I walked around Pike Place at night. Way different than going during the day.

My friends have cool shoes.

Campus.

Okay, in regards to my title I have made some major life changes in the past few days. After arriving to campus on Saturday, and spending all day Sunday preparing for classes, something big happened. Through long conversations and much thought with my parents, I’ve decided to go back home. Journalism is no longer my passion, and I don’t feel the need to stay at this university. I’ll be going home on Sunday, getting a job, and starting school in the spring. I was planning on going home at the end of this year anyway, and we just felt that now was the right time. A lot has been on my mind this week, and I’ve definitely felt overwhelmed at times! But I feel like I’ve made the best decision, and I’m excited for my new educational plans. Seattle is truly my home, and I can’t wait to get back there.

It’s been hard to be a consistent blogger lately, but I’ll try to get back to doing it. I don’t want this blog to be all about food, but more about my life and hobbies. We will see where it goes!

4 Responses to “New Beginnings”

  1. Hannah January 27, 2010 at 6:21 PM #

    Hey I came across your blog recently and I love it. Coincidentally, I am a Journalism major at UMD! If you feel that Journalism is no longer your passion, then I truly believe you have made the best decision to opt out. This school’s program is extremely rigorous and it only gets worse, especially for those whose hearts aren’t truly in it. (Not to say that you are not capable because I can tell you are a great writer from this blog). Sometimes I regret staying in the major because everything is SO news-oriented and this is something I despise. While I am still in the program, I have one more year and I can walk away with the degree but with copious amounts of stress and frustrations under my belt. Just wanted to say good luck with everything and I hope you DO find your true passion in life. :) Keep up the great blogging!

  2. Lauren January 28, 2010 at 4:33 PM #

    Good Luck with everything!!!

  3. dailygoods February 10, 2010 at 5:11 PM #

    i ‘m happy that you made the right decision for you, thinking of you!! :)

  4. olivecrazy February 11, 2010 at 3:10 PM #

    Hiya – looking forward to another blog post!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

