Catch Up Time

5 Jan

Wow, so many pictures I need to share! I don’t know how some people can blog three time a day. Props to all of you. Seriously, I have trouble doing it every two days or so. But I’ve been having tons of fun at home, so it’s all worth it. Let’s see what I have!

Big bowls of yogurt are still my favorite way to start the day. Or oats, of course. But this is just the same mix I always have. Fage, Kashi GL Crunch, cinnamon, cashews, strawberry jam, and peanut butter. Isn’t that bowl so cute?? My mom got a whole set of them in China I believe. Or it might’ve been Japan…

This was SUCH a great dinner I made the other night. I sauteed some broccoli, brussel sprouts, greens, and delicata squash for my dosage of greens. In the Ezekiel wrap, I layered avocado (sprinkled with s & p, and dressed with a little lemon juice), a few pieces of squash, hummus, peppered turkey breast, and hot sauce. I believe that’s it. It was SO good.

Mmm. Avocado, hummus, and hot sauce is a match made in heaven.

Another lunch. Big stir-fry of broccoli, squash, greens, Asian mix vegetables from Whole Foods, caramelized onions, and avocado. On the side, some hummus. Tons of Frank’s was also included in this meal. I absolutely love eating with chopsticks. Either that, or my hands. Honestly, every time you see me eat a big serving of vegetables, just assume it was eaten by hand. I don’t know why I dislike forks!

My brother and I went with some of our friends to the Bellevue Botanical Garden the other night. It was actually pretty sweet! I guess it’s a normal garden all year, but during the holidays, they replace everything with “plants” made of lights. Here are a few of my favorites.

I loved these grapes spilling out of the basket, and the rows of grapes hanging above. So cute!

On Sunday, we had some friends over for dinner. I swear, my family has 3 or 4 people/families over for dinner or dessert every week. Probably just because it’s the holiday season, but we do enjoy cooking for other people and having fun in our home. I volunteered to make dinner. On the menu: Chicken Bouillabaisse, salad, roasted potatoes and brussel sprouts, and homemade bread.

My sister Grace is really good at setting the table. And she actually enjoys it. I really think she’s going to be into interior design when she’s older.

The roasted vegetables. I accidentally chopped up a few too many potatoes for the bouillabaisse so I just decided to roast them!

The couple that came over made the sourdough bread that’s in front. I made this whole wheat quinoa bread, in the back. We grilled it on the stove, and it was really tasty. For some reason, this recipe isn’t working out for me. The taste is delicious, and I love it but after the bread has risen, it sinks! I can’t figure it out. I’m going to keep playing with it.

I used Ina Garten’s recipe for the chicken. It turned out really delicious. The sauce consists of tomatoes, garlic (tons of it), fennel seeds, white wine, and chicken stock. It was awesome with the grilled bread.

Bianca made this salad of spring greens, chopped apple, caramelized pecans and pumpkin seeds, and a homemade vinaigrette. Delicious, as always.

Note the messy bowl. On top of the chicken is a garlic mayonnaise. Totally made the dish! If Ina recommends it, I’m gonna do it. Bianca and I tried to make our own…it failed. The mayonnaise totally broke and was beyond repair. I’m going to conquer it someday though!

Well, I think that’s about all I have. There are more dinner parties on the plan for this week, with one MAJOR one on Saturday. So excited!!

One Response to “Catch Up Time”

  1. dorothy January 8, 2010 at 11:04 PM #

    whole wheat QUINOA bread?!? insanity :)

    loove all of ina’s recipes. looks fab!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

