Family Pictures

29 Dec

As promised, I have the pictures of the tamales that my family made the other night.

In case anyone missed it, these tamales had a filling of chicken and caramelized red onion. I covered them in salsa verde (one of my favorites!), and some Frank’s. Seriously, Frank’s makes everything better.

And on the side I had some random vegetables. Broccoli, green beans, asparagus, mushrooms, and probably some more. And a little bowl full of salsa verde for more dipping. It was an excellent lunch! One that I’ll probably be repeating this afternoon…and again until the tamales are gone :)

Today, my family is getting our annual family picture taken. Of course, most people do this for Christmas but we weren’t all together in time. We were supposed to do it last Sunday but since my flight got canceled I wasn’t here until Monday. We are going to a cupcake shop in Seattle to take the picture. My mom has an idea in mind, and I really have no idea what it is. We shall see! In the past, our pictures have mostly been outside–in front of the Space Needle, at a park, in the neighborhood, by the lake, etc. Last year, it totally rained the entire time we were taking pictures. It made for some forced smiles, that’s for sure :) I’m excited to see how this year’s turns out!

For now, I’m just enjoying this quiet morning as all my siblings are still asleep.

Yogurt with Kashi GoLean Crunch, some homemade strawberry jam, peanut butter, sunflower seed butter, cashews, a bit of coconut. And many, many shakes of cinnamon. This mix never gets old.

The sun is coming out, and I couldn’t be happier. Have a great day everybody :)

4 Responses to “Family Pictures”

  1. Lele December 29, 2009 at 10:41 PM #

    I am so so so so jealous of anyone who has a family tamale tradition. I want to be adopted by a tamale family!

  2. dailygoods December 30, 2009 at 10:07 AM #

    omgggggggggg can your fmaily make me tamales? IM IN LOVE WITH THEM!!!! gah, officially drooling on my desk!

  3. Peanut Butter Bliss December 31, 2009 at 3:11 PM #

    TAMALES ARE THE BEST!!! i’ve only had Amy’s frozen ones, but they are just so good.

  4. anjali January 27, 2010 at 12:45 AM #

    please tell how u and ur sisters do your hair!!!!! i want it!! hahaha

    AMAZING, GLOWING skin as well!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

